Moms-to-be in Isolation: Here’s How to Stay Physically and Mentally Fit

Lindsey Christine
Baby Steps
Published in
6 min readMar 20, 2020

Tips to help you stay centered and in shape during the Coronavirus lockdown

Photo by Alekon pictures on Unsplash

Calm mama, calm baby. That’s the advice my mother responds with every few days when I express worry creeping back up about what’s going on in the world. I’m 25 weeks pregnant with my first child, and the circumstances are less than ideal. I’m getting fatter and craving fresh air. Missing my gym time, trips to the grocery store, date nights with my sweetie, and browsing maternity and baby clothes in stores. Movies and friend dates and walks to the park. I’m literally in my apartment 24/7 (Hubs even gets the mail now). The uncertainty of it all can be a heavy burden to bear, but we get to make a daily decision whether to feed fear or faith. And mom’s right — an anxious mama is doing no favors for the little one resting in the womb.

So every morning I find myself making a choice to start the day with optimism, no matter what the headlines read. Some days it’s more challenging than others to manifest positivity, but I’ve made a commitment to myself and Bean that I will make lemonade out of lemons. So I continue to work on building a healthy mind and body. And stay focused on the blessings I have (my husband and family) and the good things to come (my family member en route). It really does become easier the more you do it.

Here are some tips to help expectant moms stay fit:

Cultivate Creative Movement. My back pain is quite bad at night: muscle pain stretching along the left and right side ribs, and sore piriformis (booty) muscles from contact with the bed. The more I sleep, the worse it gets. I’ve found, though, that the longer I remain vertical during the day, the less intense the pain is at night. With no treadmill option, I’ve gotten creative about finding ways to “unsit” myself. Whether or not you have pain, opportunities for movement can help prevent your muscles, ligaments, tendons and joints from suffering the effects of stagnation (and keep a healthy weight). Now some women may have more pain while standing, so try different things out, run anything new by your OB, and go with what your body is telling you. Some ideas:

  • Use 5 or 8 lb. hand weights while watching TV
  • Walk around the apartment/house while on the phone or watching instructional vids
  • Practice ankle rotations, neck rolls and spine lengthening (aka, sitting up straight) while at the computer
  • While standing up straight, stretch both hands toward the sky, then reach each hand up and over for a side body stretch on each side
  • Hold onto a chair, table or dresser while kicking each leg back for about 15 reps
  • Vacuuming and cleaning floors daily (gets the blood pumping!)
  • Regular or weighted squats and light lunges
  • Gentle stretching of legs, back and arms
  • Google trimester-specific exercises online. I’m using this one from TheBump.com daily.

Do Yoga With Me. I used to be pretty into yoga, but haven’t attempted it in pregnancy just because I felt like I didn’t know enough to do it safely. I asked my doc and she approved gentle yoga and suggested I choose courses specifically tailored to the pregnant body. I found a wonderful site with tons of free videos—DoYogaWithMe.com—that has a plethora of classes available for expectant moms with topics like easing leg cramps, sciatica, spinal release, and even guided mediation. Though they do have paid download options, you don’t have to sign up or agree to purchase anything; it’s totally free to watch online. Don’t go deeper than you feel comfortable doing. I modify the movements to fit my body and avoid anything that creates added pressure or strain.

Start Your Book. I’ve been meaning to write a novel for, like, my entire adult life. So now, with no imminent distractions, I’m finally kicking it off. Whether or not it’s any good, I can’t tell you how much pride I feel just having begun working on this particular dream of mine. So if you’ve talked about writing your memoirs, start typing. Or pick up that guitar. Or take a Master Class in gourmet cooking. It’s really great for the soul and helps to get your mind off of the alternate reality outside.

Skip Social Media. Or media in general. Since the depressing headlines are coming in at a rapid rate, it’s easy to get sucked in and be tempted to check your newsfeeds every half hour. But notice how it makes you feel and pull back if it dampens your state of mind. I’m not saying don’t stay informed of global and local affairs, but set limits for yourself on what outlets you check in with and how often. Negative people and articles can do a number on your head, so decide on a strategy for news sources that helps, not hurts. There are certain friends on FB who I check in with, because I know they’re looking in the right places. And my husband and I watch the nightly briefings from Canada’s Prime Minister to stay connected. But I have unfollowed a few friends (and family members) on social media because they were alarmist/extremely negative. You control where your energy goes! (If you want to take in some hopeful news, check out the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation on Twitter; these guys are making some serious progress.)

Reach Out. What better time than now to check on all those people in your circle that you’ve been meaning to touch base with, but time just got away from you. From immediate family to cousins, clients, old college buddies, former colleagues and long-lost friends, just a little, “Hey, how you doing? Thinking about you!” can spark a return to connection. This viral scare prompted me to start writing more, which led me to send out my article to friends and family, which jumpstarted a whole bunch of really cool catch-ups with people I’ve been missing. Email, phone, text, or even a good, old-fashioned letter. Just check in and let ’em know you’re here. Maybe one or two of your contacts could use your special brand of optimism right now.

Prepare for Baby. One of my new favorite activities is going through the list of newborn baby needs and hunting for them online. Originally, I was going to wait until a month or so before my due date to do a shopping spree, but since supply chains are narrowing, I decided to get my stock built up now. It’s so much fun and really does a lot to lift my spirit. Not just researching and ordering the items, but washing, folding and putting away itty-bitty baby clothes brings me oodles of joy. We’re also watching YouTube vids on items we don’t need right off the bat, including a stroller and baby monitor, and that’s a really cool process. I like to kill time by reading one of my two baby books, too, to learn as much as I can about labor, delivery, newborn care and baby development before Bean comes along.

Breathe. Whether or not you’ve got a spiritual side, deep breathing in a quiet room for several minutes a few times a day, can give you a mood boost and oxygenate your lungs. Visualize a safe and successful delivery, and imagine holding your little one close. Talk to your tummy, introduce your baby to your favorite music, or read him a book. Picture what life will be like soon when the current lockdowns are lifted. Daydream about all of the amazing adventures to come.

--

--

Lindsey Christine
Baby Steps

writer / traveler / earth & ocean guardian / jiu-jiteiro / french-press coffee and french pastry lover…wordrescueco.com