My First Attempt at Making Pesto Pasta!!

Vivek Maskara
Bachelor’s Kitchen
3 min readDec 17, 2019
Pesto Pasta!

I recently tried cooking up Pesto Pasta for lunch. I have never made pasta earlier, but I wanted to try something new. Surprisingly the end product turned out to be quite satisfying thanks to Utkarsha Bakshi for her recipe.

I will walk you through the four simple steps for making a simple yet delicious pesto pasta.

Step 1: Chop chop chop!!

First things first, chop the veggies and keep them ready. For my recipe, I am using the following vegetables:

  • a handful of spinach
  • 7–8 button mushrooms
  • 8–10 cloves of garlic
  • 3–4 cherry tomatoes for garnishing
Spinach, Garlic, Mushroom, and Cherry tomatoes

Step 2: Boil the Spaghetti

Take a handful of spaghetti and boil it for 10–15 minutes. Check a couple of times to see it has become soft and turn the gas off once it feels soft.

Note: You do not need to break the spaghetti for boiling.

Step 3: Saute the veggies

Take 2–3 spoon fulls of olive oil and heat it in a non-stick pan. Once the olive oil is heated up, add mushrooms, garlic, and spinach to it. After sauteing it for 3–4 minutes, add pesto sauce to it and saute it for another 1 minute.

Note: For my recipe, I used readymade pesto sauce from Godrej’s Nature basket.

Step 4: Do some Magic

Once you have the veggies sauteed, add boiled spaghetti to it and mix the vegetables well. Stir it for a 2–3 minutes so that everything mixes well. And voila, your pasta is ready to be served.

Note: If you wish, you can also add some parmesan cheese to your pasta, but I wanted to make a lighter pasta, so I didn’t use cheese or butter.

Step 5: Devour it

I added some cherry tomatoes for garnishing, but it is totally up to you. Now is the time to enjoy the hard work you just did in the kitchen. So tuck it and devour every morsel.

Make sure you give this post 50 claps and follow me if you enjoyed this post and want to see more!

--

--