PeppaPig Time

Dravida Seetharam
Back In Time Unintentionally
3 min readMar 4, 2022

It is lunchtime and PeppaPig time, and I fell in love with PeppaPig when I saw the first episode. George and Peppa are my friends among the several characters, while Mummy Pig and Granny Pig continue to be my favourites. Peppa lives on a hill with Daddy pig, Mummy pig and brother George, and I like her friends, Suzy, Danny, Pedro and Rebecca. I love their house, beds, car, and watching the show became a lunchtime routine. Peppa dresses like a fairy princess, while Suzy is like a nurse. I love Peppa, George and friends jumping in puddles. I crackle and bounce with excitement when they jump into the muddy puddles and make loud snorting noises. I also love to jump in the rainwater puddles during the rainy season, and I want to be naughty like Peppa. George loves his toy dinosaur and carries it with him wherever he goes. Mummy pig works from home on a computer like my Mummy and Appa. Daddy pig has a big tummy and enjoys taking the kids on car trips. I love his round spectacles, which he always misplaces.

“Seethaam” and Ajji also sit with me to watch the episodes. I am unsure whether they understand the dialogue, but I follow the stories well. I sit on a small orange chair while others sit on chairs nearby. Occasionally, “Tatha Bujji” joins but always sits on a plastic chair. He is not as kind as Grandpa Pig but keeps yelling at people around. He will not let others speak. I do not think he listens to anyone in the house. It is always a one-way street with him. “Tatha Bujji” always talks in a loud voice, disturbing my attention. He orders others to show that he is the head in the house and insists on switching off the TV while eating. I am not sure why. My lunch is an important activity for everyone in the house, and the entire household assemble while I am eating.

Ajji or Mummy, bring my lunch in a small bowl with some boiled veggies on the side. I hate my lunch with some rice and dal cooked together, which is tasteless and bland. I protest and refuse to eat if the TV is not on. It is my negotiating piece. But for the Peppa Pig, I will not eat a single morsel. Though I can finish eating in fifteen minutes, I take my time. But, I purposely slow down to get more screen time. Sometimes, I overhear a conversation that I eat more while watching the Peppa Pig show and putting on weight, and I sabotage any attempts to switch off the TV by shouting and crying. But no one sees tears in my eyes. While the others have anxious faces, Appa and Mummy know it is a drama.

Occasionally, some irritating and unconnected visuals appear, which I do not understand. I do not know to use the black hand-held tool with many buttons, which the people call ‘remote’. I see a small display in the lower right-hand corner of the TV. While I can not read, I learn from Ajji that it reads — ‘Skip Ads’. It became a routine for me to shout ‘Skip Ads’ when I saw the black display in the corner.

After seeing several episodes, I have learnt many new words. My Appa and Mummy are surprised. Mummy calls this “The Peppa Effect”, though I do not know the meaning.

Do you know the complete name of Peppa?

“Seethaam” tells me that it is Pepperius PeppaPig.

I have many stories to tell. Stay tuned!

( Chris F from Pixels)

--

--