Fly Away

Above the clouds.

David Rudder
Backwater Publications

--

Photograph thanks to Julie Beasley.

I’d love to fly away.
And float above the clouds.
And watch the world in an idyll.
Flotsam jetsam and the crowds.

And cast my cares to the wind.
And reach out and touch.
What was not enough before
Will never be too much.

Levity to lift me up
And lighten up the load.
To travel with vivacity
Upon the skyways roads.

When done with light-heartedness
I’d smile and carry on.
And ski across the silky clouds.
Until the night is gone.

To watch the sun, the moon, and the stars
And see the lightning burning.
And ride the rain in the clouds.
Whilst listening and learning.

Then board the plane to the sun and sea.
Greenfields and babbling brooks
And appreciate the beauty.
Written, in pastoral books

When the sun sinks in the sky
I’ll sigh with satisfaction.
And in a light-hearted way
Floating from the main attraction.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Backwater Publications

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.