Hibiscus

a tropical flower blooms into imagined colors

Delfino
Backwater Publications
1 min readJul 23, 2024

--

Hibiscus, oil pastels on canvas, 12"x16" ©Delfino Cornali 2024

During my winter retreat to the Big Island of Hawaii this year, I often took walks just before sunset to the hills above Kamuela town. The interplay of light, clouds, and mist cast a magical glow over the trees and flowers of the neighborhood. Halfway up the hill on Puu Nanea Street, I often passed this mature Chinese hibiscus plant in bloom.

The neighborhood was on the wetter, eastern side of Kamuela. The tropical flowers take on a special quality around sunset. The low-angled sunset light bends the spectrum to burnt oranges and golds.

With this piece, I decided to experiment with colors bold enough to capture the exuberance of the tropics. I decided to push this ethereal light further, letting the blossom glow electric orange with a light so intense it becomes difficult to discern the flower’s edges. The deep shadows I’ve migrated to violets and muted bronzes. The green foliage became a mix of olive and umber.

I’m happy with the final result — tropically exuberant.

Point of Inspiration: Puu Nanea St, Kamuela, Hawaii

Delfino

--

--

Delfino
Backwater Publications

Pastel artist, bread baker, runner, backpacker, traveler, gardener, mosaicist, @home in the Idaho foothills w/my partner Michele enjoying owl/coyote serenades.