Why have a Stone and Light Garden?

Explaining Things to Grandson.

Dr John Frederick Rose
Backwater Publications

--

Garden of Stone and Sand is ever changing as sun’s light walks across the stones. Picture by John Rose.

Simple question,
How does your garden work?
Under normal
circumstances,
Would just dismiss
question and questioner,
However grandson was
genuinely curious and
helped chose rocks and
prepare sand,
Even saw me
making box and
polishing timber,
Owed him
explanation.

Explanation.

Originally inspired by
Zen Garden seen in
Japanese visit in 1970's,
Showed grandson
picture below,
I’m sure it’s
one I visited.

I have no pictures dating from my visits to Japan. Ryōan-ji (late 16th century) in Kyoto, Japan, a famous example of a Zen garden. Picture by Cquest — Own work, CC BY-SA 2.5, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=2085504. Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.5 Generic license.

By comparison,
My garden of
rock and sand is
3 feet by 2 feet,
Somewhat smaller.

--

--

Dr John Frederick Rose
Backwater Publications

Love poetry, forests and my garden. Managing health by diet and exercise. Interested in ideation, social and technology interactions.