A Child Stolen, A Future Forever Lost

The tragic unexpected death of our unborn baby

Adam Eyves
Backyard Church

--

Photo by Adele Morris on Unsplash

“Tragedy doesn’t discriminate between men or women, race, social class, religion, political ideologies, or human desire. Instead, it wreaks havoc on its victims wherever it wills.” ~ AE

7:35 pm

I’m physically exhausted, emotionally numb, and at the end of my patience.

A hurried male nurse assisting my wife’s emergency surgery walks into the hospital’s outdoor courtyard waiting area. It’s a warm, sticky Philippine evening. Yet, the mood is quiet and peaceful, notwithstanding the anxiousness one feels pending a surgery’s outcome.

He greets me with, “Can you take this document down to the laboratory and get two units of type O+ blood.”

“Yeah, sure, I guess so.” I’m confused. Chasing blood is an unusual request for someone from the US. “Is everything OK?”

“Your wife has lost a lot of blood,” he says in broken English. He points me downstairs and around the corner.

I hand the rigid young woman at the laboratory front desk the blood request paperwork.

--

--

Adam Eyves
Backyard Church

Writer, editor, storyteller, sailor, and coffee drinker. I think, I question, I imagine. I am a philosopher at heart, and a connoisseur of all good things.