A Reading List for Deconstructing Christians

Catelyn Silapachai
Backyard Church
Published in
7 min readSep 23, 2022

--

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio

My husband recently asked me if I could remember a specific moment in my religious deconstruction journey that felt like the point of no return. As I considered his question, I realized that there were many events over the past 7 years, rather than one singular instance. Evangelical support for Trump, disillusionment with Christian leaders, Evangelical backlash to the racial awakening of the last few years, the many, many instances of clergy sex abuse, my personal journey in therapy, and the transformative experience of becoming a parent were just some of the reasons that I let go of the religion of my childhood. Against the backdrop of these cultural and personal events, I read a steady stream of books that gave me the scaffolding and context to let go of fundamentalism, embrace nondualism, and accept the unknowable mysteries of existence.

A non-comprehensive list of the books I found most helpful in my deconstruction journey:

  • The Orthodox Heretic by Peter Rollins: In this incredibly unique compilation of allegories written by the author, familiar Biblical parables are turned on their heads. I was blown away by the beauty and humanity in these parables.
  • The Blue Parakeet by Scot McKnight: With deft examples, McKnight demonstrates the importance of not…

--

--

Catelyn Silapachai
Backyard Church

I write about books, parenting, politics, and religion. I live in Austin, Texas with my husband, daughter, dogs, and plants.