Advent Reflections

The snake and the Seed of Woman

David Anderson
Backyard Church

--

Snake in a tree
Photo by Andrew Liu on Unsplash

We have just begun the season of Advent, a time when traditionally we prepare our hearts and minds to celebrate the birth of Christ. You might be wondering, what does a snake have to do with a season that is supposed to be about hope, joy, peace, or love? I’m glad you asked. In the Garden of Eden, after Adam and Eve ate the forbidden fruit, God said this to the snake who tempted them.

And I will put enmity between thee and the woman, and between thy seed and her seed; it shall bruise thy head, and thou shalt bruise his heel.

(Gen 3:15 KJV)

When it talks about enmity between women and snakes, I think that is one of the truest statements in the Bible. Every woman I know can’t stand snakes. One time we had a snake get into our house. I think if I had not been able to trap and remove it, my wife would have slept in a hotel room that night. We might have even had to move.

But with regard to Advent, this is the first verse in the bible that foretells the coming of the Messiah.

A Snake and Its Seed

It’s in the curious phrase between thy seed and her seed. In Hebrew, the word translated “seed” is zera`. It can mean seed in the literal sense of seed you plant in order to grow crops, flora and fauna. It…

--

--

David Anderson
Backyard Church

David Anderson is a blogger, award-winning author, bible geek, and novice crypto investor. Doubting Thomas is my patron saint.