Cancer Exists — What Does That Say About God?

God, Cancer, and the Unanswered Whys

Dan Foster
Backyard Church
Published in
8 min readNov 17, 2023

--

Image by EvgeniyShkolenko on iStock

I’m sitting in a front-row seat that I never asked for.

I’m watching on as cancer wreaks havoc on my wife’s body.

Life has a funny way of throwing curveballs when you least expect it. It happens to us all, right? We all have our struggles and pain, and most of the time, we can see some redemptive purpose or reason in the end.

We say when it’s all done and dusted, “Sure, that was the hardest time in my life, but it was also the time when I learned the most.” And those of us who believe in a God can reconcile our doubts by fixing our eyes on the silver lining.

But cancer?

It’s not the kind of struggle you can neatly package into a life lesson with a bow on top. I mean… we are talking about a disease that gradually kills a person, infiltrating the body with ever-expanding cells that stubbornly refuse to die until they crush and subjugate healthy cells and organs into submission.

When you’re one step removed from cancer, you can explain away the troubling questions that it presents using religious platitudes and mindless rhetoric:

“God works in mysterious ways.”

--

--

Dan Foster
Backyard Church

Writer, Poet, Blogger: Tackling life, faith, culture, religion, politics, and spirituality. Connect with me: https://linktr.ee/DanFosterWriter