Struggling with conspiracy theories in your church?

The good news is that there are resources to help you confront and heal.

Mark Hackett
Backyard Church

--

Photo by Ahmed Zayan on Unsplash

“I can’t believe you call yourself a Christian when you support people who sacrifice children. You’re an idiot.”

It was mid-October 2020. Voting was well underway. Like many Christians who refused to commit idolatry to Donald Trump, every day I was waking up to more and more disturbing messages like this one from fellow believers, including from my own church.

At first, I assumed this was about abortion. It’s a hot-button topic that brings forward a lot of anger in Evangelical circles especially. Sadly, that anger often pushes some Christians over the line into disrespect and verbal abuse. As a Christian who is not politically conservative, I’ve been on the receiving end of that more times than I can count.

But this time was different. Statements like these were decreasingly Democrats support abortion and increasingly Democrats are directly killing children themselves. I was tempted to chalk up this violent shift in language to fear-based, controlling behavior, but the seething rage that accompanied such claims spoke to something darker.

In early November, I shared some of these messages during a video chat with an acquaintance who…

--

--

Mark Hackett
Backyard Church

Writings about faith and culture from Memphis, TN. “That relentless, tall guy.”