Did God Really Create the World in Only Six Days?

Genesis 1: The creation story

Adam K
Backyard Church

--

Photo by Robert Koorenny on Unsplash

I grew up in the church being told we needed to hold to a 6-day creation or that we would be walking on a slippery slope.

We were given websites and arguments for the 6-day creation narrative and taught how to respond to non-believers when they attacked the bible’s teaching on creation.

“If you question Genesis 1, then you will question everything else that comes after.” — Church leaders

But, when I started studying the bible for myself, I started to realize some observations that didn’t fit together. That’s when I started to explore other readings of this text.

I don’t doubt that God created the universe, but I also don’t think that Genesis attempts to give us a scientific explanation of how the universe was created.

What caused me to question the reading I grew up with and what other readings are there in the body of Christ?

When you read through Genesis 1 some things don’t seem to quite fit. This is what caused me to think that Genesis 1 has a different purpose than to give a scientific understanding of creation.

--

--

Adam K
Backyard Church

Follower of Jesus. Husband. Father of two. Missionary. Foodie. Mdiv. Searching for a space to share, learn and grow.