I Found Jesus. He Lives Not Far From Here.

Meet the men and women who believe they are the Messiah.

Dan Foster
Backyard Church
Published in
8 min readMay 24, 2024

--

Image Source: CanvaPro

When the Jehovah’s Witnesses knocked on my door and asked me if I’d found Jesus, I replied, “Why yes, of course! He lives not far from here.”

I’ll bet you didn’t know that Jesus lives Down Under.

His real name is Alan.

Alan John Miller, to be exact, but to his disciples, he is known as AJ. He lives in Queensland, Australia, and leads a movement called “Divine Truth.” AJ Miller believes he is the reincarnation of Jesus Christ and has managed to attract a significant following despite the obvious skepticism surrounding his claims.

Miller started life as a Jehovah’s Witness himself, even becoming an elder in that movement, but claims to have realized that he is actually Jesus Christ after a series of spiritual awakenings that began in the early 2000s. One can only imagine the surprise of his friends and family when he announced over dinner one night, “Pass the potatoes, please. And by the way, I’m Jesus.”

Adding to this celestial soap opera is the fact that Miller’s partner, Mary Luck, claims to be the reincarnation of Mary Magdalene. Who else!? Together, they present themselves as a divine couple reincarnated to guide humanity. You can attend their…

--

--

Dan Foster
Backyard Church

Writer, Poet, Blogger: Tackling life, faith, culture, religion, politics, and spirituality. Connect with me: https://linktr.ee/DanFosterWriter