I Saw Jesus In A Drum Circle

I found healing for my wounds

Judy Hansen
Backyard Church

--

Photo by Sara Cottle on Unsplash

The church is in a very sad state indeed if a preacher’s daughter who grew up on the mission field can barely find her way to church. The path seems all but gone.

Then I went to a drum circle and found Jesus.

It’s taken me a while to grasp that I found more truth, welcome, and acceptance in a drum circle than I have in church for ages.

Within that circle, Jesus was present in the joyful dance to the beat, the rhythmic pounding of the drum soothing us, body and soul. I heard Jesus in the voices raised in thanks for each other, or in the happy greetings of old and new friends. I saw Jesus in the hilarity of dogs chasing balls among the drums.

I saw Jesus in the acceptance of the woman with bright red lipstick sporting a red bowtie, her chest nearly spilling out of her dress. I saw Jesus in the love expressed for the toothless man who plays reggae or toward those covered in tattoos. I heard Jesus in the poems, stories, and jokes, in the snapping of fingers in recognition of a point well made.

The wounds of church

Too often, I have to drag myself to church, almost against my will. It’s not like anyone is forcing me to go, but more like I am a lovesick child, hoping to find comfort…

--

--

Judy Hansen
Backyard Church

Writer, blogger, book author. I push the boundaries of what faith means.