LGBTQ and the Bible

Wondering if we got it all wrong? You’re not alone.

Eric Sentell
Backyard Church
Published in
17 min readOct 24, 2020

--

Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

About 2000, when I was still a teenager, I attended a youth revival featuring a local pop-rock Christian band. The lead singer gave a few mini-sermons between songs.

During one of these mini-sermons, he said, “I think homosexuality will be the #1 killer of this generation.” He must have seen the looks on everyone’s faces, because he clarified, “I don’t mean they’re going to turn all our kids gay.”

Whew! Glad we cleared that up, because it sounded like you were saying exactly that — and it was going to somehow kill us, too!

The singer continued, “What I mean is, one day everyone will think, ‘Being gay just isn’t a big deal.’”

Twenty years later, I think he was 100% right for 100% the wrong reason.

Of course, I could be wrong.

Images of Christianity

In 2007, the Barna Research Group surveyed both non-Christians and Christians aged 16–29 about the perceptions they associated with Christianity. The survey found, “the most common perception is that present-day Christianity is ‘anti-homosexual.’”

Over 90% of non-Christians aged 16–29 perceived Christianity as “anti-homosexual,” and so did 80% of young churchgoers…

--

--