My Kids Judged Me For Walking Away From Church

And then I judged my kid when he did

Judy Hansen
Backyard Church
Published in
7 min readApr 24, 2022

--

Photo by Igor Kiianchuk on Pexels

Four years ago on Easter Sunday, I quit going to church.

Church is a hard space for me to be in because it dials up so much pain. I have many layers, triggers, and pain points, making it hard to enter a place that does that to me.

When I left church, it created a bit of an upheaval in our family, specifically with my kids. They had only known me to be faithful in my Christian walk, the one who had taught them the basics of our beliefs, the one who had prayed with them to “accept Jesus as their personal Savior.”

Yet things had come to a head, and I simply had to leave. There was a culmination of events to where I finally said, “Enough!” It was a pretty big deal for me, and I wrote about it in my journal:

Today is April 1st, 2018. It is Easter Sunday and I have decided to quit going to church. I need to redefine, refigure, and think again what church means.

For my entire life, I have faithfully gone to church, but they have all been run exclusively by men, mostly white men. I need to figure out what it means as a woman to follow God. How does God speak to women? What does it mean to hear God?

This decision came about after listening to a sermon by Scott…

--

--

Judy Hansen
Backyard Church

Writer, blogger, book author. I push the boundaries of what faith means.