Research Shows That Being a Christian Makes You Less Like Christ

How the church is failing to produce true Christ followers

Dan Foster
Backyard Church
Published in
7 min readJun 23, 2023

--

Image by lassedesignen on Shutterstock

The preacher man paced back and forth across the stage, banging his fist on an open palm, red-faced, with sweat pouring from his brow. He was building to the climax of his sermon and was about to deliver an impassioned plea to the impressionable young minds before him. I sat in the congregation, and boy-oh-boy, was I desperate to know what I needed to do to please God… or perhaps appease God.

Finally, the preacher arrived at the punchline of his message. He leaned forward across the pulpit and, with a pained expression on his face, delivered the knockout blow. He said…

If being a Christian were illegal, would there be enough evidence in your life to get you arrested, tried, and convicted beyond all reasonable doubt?”

Then he repeated it for effect.

“Well, gosh,” I thought to myself… “I really don’t know if there would be enough evidence,” and I descended into a pit of anxiety, wondering if I were “Christian” enough for God.

I look back on it now, and I realize that the kind of “evidence” the preacher man was referring to was things like telling your school friends about Jesus, reading your Bible, praying…

--

--

Dan Foster
Backyard Church

Writer, Poet, Blogger: Tackling life, faith, culture, religion, politics, and spirituality. Connect with me: https://linktr.ee/DanFosterWriter