The Worst of Christianity in an Eight-Word Comment

My unapologetic response to the guy who thinks I’m going to Hell

Dan Foster
Backyard Church
Published in
6 min readMay 22, 2023

--

Image by SIphotography on iStock

It all started when I wrote a blog post entitled “The 40 Reasons I’m No Longer an Evangelical Christian,” where I bared my soul and shared the intricate details of my personal journey and the reasons why I walked away from the evangelical faith.

With every word I typed, I poured my heart out, reflecting on the implications and consequences of my evolving beliefs. For me, it was a cathartic experience and a chance to connect with others who might be experiencing similar doubts or transformations.

The decision to walk away from the faith that once shaped the core of my being was not easy. It involved countless hours of introspection, soul-searching conversations, wrestling with deep-seated convictions, and one-hundred-thousand tears or more. I wrote this blog post not to dismiss the faith of others but rather to share my journey honestly and authentically.

But, it seems my candid exploration ruffled a few feathers. It seems I may have accidentally slaughtered someone’s sacred cow, and now they’ve gotten up off the rocking chair of their own dogma and pointed the 12 gauge shotgun of their righteous indignation directly at me.

--

--

Dan Foster
Backyard Church

Writer, Poet, Blogger: Tackling life, faith, culture, religion, politics, and spirituality. Connect with me: https://linktr.ee/DanFosterWriter