The Worst of Christianity in One Facebook Advertisement

Unveiling the harmful myths of male dominance in Christian marriages

Dan Foster
Backyard Church
Published in
7 min readMay 26, 2024

--

Image source: Canva Pro

I’m stunned.

I just watched an advertisement on my Facebook feed that left me shaking my head for two big reasons.

Firstly, I can’t believe the Facebook algorithm fed me this ad. What the heck, Facebook? Can you please stick to hair replacement therapy and weight loss ads? What on earth made you think this applies to my life?

And secondly, this ad has to be single-handedly the most regressive, cringe-inducing pitch for marital “harmony” I’ve ever seen. I’ve seen plenty of really bad marriage advice in church before, but this stuff takes the cake.

And it deserves the blistering critique that I am about to serve up.

First, though, here is the Facebook ad in all its retrograde glory. I’ll post a screenshot so you know it’s legit (you might be tempted, as I was initially, to believe it was a parody). Then, I’ll post a full transcript because it’s so bad you need to see every word to believe it.

“Married Christian men, if…

--

--

Dan Foster
Backyard Church

Writer, Poet, Blogger: Tackling life, faith, culture, religion, politics, and spirituality. Connect with me: https://linktr.ee/DanFosterWriter