Three Days and Three Nights?

Three options to explain the timeline for Jesus in the tomb.

Steve C
Backyard Church

--

Photo by Bruno van der Kraan on Unsplash

The Bible speaks of Christ dying and being raised after three days and three nights. Common Christian church practice tells us of Christ dying on Good Friday and being raised on Easter Sunday.

How do we reconcile “3 days and 3 nights” with a Friday-to-Sunday timeline?

I’ve wanted to write about this for some time. I sincerely want to understand this quandary as its held my attention for years.

At one time I did ask a Pastor about the timeline, specifically the 3 nights portion. He replied, “I don’t know, when you find out let me know.”

First I just wanted the answer — the correct answer (as if there is one). Then I wanted to be able to defend the answer (as in apologetics). Lastly, I wanted to share what I’ve come to find on the topic.

Broadly, there are three scenarios that address this dilemma.

  • It’s not for us to say or understand.
  • It’s an idiom.
  • There were two Sabbaths.

Where the Bible speaks of 3 days and 3 nights

--

--

Steve C
Backyard Church

This 2 Shall Pass. Maturing and Still Learning After All These Years.