We Need to Discuss The Bible Project

I never thought I’d feel this way about TBP

Eric Sentell
Backyard Church
Published in
5 min readJun 9, 2022

--

The Bible Project makes very popular explainer videos about the bible and theology, but their most valuable resource is The Bible Project Podcast.

I credit The Bible Project Podcast with helping save my faith. I never, ever thought I would come to dislike any part of it.

So, when I say we need to discuss The Bible Project, I’m coming from a place of frustration rooted in a kind of mourning for what TBP was and still could be as well as a profound respect for its power.

What is The Bible Project?

For those unfamiliar, their explainer videos combine slick graphic design and animation with succinct, accessible interpretations of all things bible-related: summaries of the bible’s books, tracings of themes, and explications of Greek and Hebrew words. Pastors play them during sermons, youth groups and bible studies use them, and 3.19 million subscribe to their YouTube channel.

Their podcast lets listeners eavesdrop on conversations between the co-founders of The Bible Project, Dr. Tim Mackie, and Jon Collins, as they develop the outlines of their videos. The podcast episodes go into far more depth and detail, as Collins asks the obvious and tough questions and Mackie…

--

--