Would Jesus Attend a Gay Wedding?

The Divine Call for Love Over Legalism

Dan Foster
Backyard Church
Published in
5 min readFeb 2, 2024

--

Image by ronstik on iStock

I’ve just finished reading an article on a conservative Christian news website entitled “Christians Should Never Attend a Gay Wedding.” (I guess these particular Christians must be having a slow news day if they think that this is a headline).

In the offending article, theologian and author Carl Trueman argues that Christians should never attend LGBTQ+ weddings, as doing so, in his view, implies an endorsement of the relationship and undermines fundamental teachings in the New Testament and the essence of Christ.

I couldn’t agree with him less.

Here’s why.

The Letter of the Law vs The Spirit of the Law

I want to preface what I am about to say here by making it clear that I am fully affirming of LBGTQ+ folk, and if I ever happen to be invited to a same-sex wedding (and I hope I will be), you can bet I would be there with bells on to celebrate.

However, let’s imagine for a moment that you were the kind of Christian who wasn’t affirming of same-sex marriage. I’m not here to change your mind, even though I disagree with your position. Rather, I would argue that if your LGBTQ+ friends happened to offer you an invitation to their same-sex wedding…

--

--

Dan Foster
Backyard Church

Writer, Poet, Blogger: Tackling life, faith, culture, religion, politics, and spirituality. Connect with me: https://linktr.ee/DanFosterWriter