Awesome art by Elisa Insua

May the fourth be with you

Aura Wilming
Bacon Eggs & Geek
Published in
2 min readMay 4, 2016

--

I’ve said this today, with a straight face. I meant it.

It used to be something to make fun of. As a life long Trekkie, making fun of the Star Wars fans was not just fun. It was kind of expected.

It’s not that I didn’t like Star Wars, I do, but it seemed a little silly. While Star Trek seemed so much more. More everything.

Star Wars has a black man’s voice dubbed over a white actor’s performance.

Star Trek has an interracial kiss.

Star Wars has a man kept alive by a mechanical suit.

Star Trek has a living machine called Data.

Star Wars has people that can manipulate matter around them with magic.

Star Trek has a race of aliens called ‘Q’ with God-like powers.

But above all that, Star Trek was nobler. More social-conscious, more diverse, humanitarian, more focused on peace instead of war…in short, people who preferred Star Trek were just plain better people.

Of course the universe conspired against me and Star Wars is now my geekdom-in-law. (well, not officially) and I had to look at my attitude towards Star Wars over the last 3 years and come to this conclusion: While all I’ve written so far is not exactly wrong, the other thing Trekkies are, myself included, is arrogant and conceited. Better people, indeed.

And so I say with all sincerity

Live long and prosper and may the force be with us all

--

--

Aura Wilming
Bacon Eggs & Geek

Writer of fiction, blogs and erotica. Frequency in that order. Popularity in reverse.