I’m Not An Editor, I’m A Thinker

Disclaimer & Apology: I do not edit. I write as I think, what’s so wrong with that?

Carley J Hewitt
Bad Grammar

--

Recently I have been signing off my writing with the following tagline: “Disclaimer & Apology: I do not edit. I write as I think, what’s so wrong with that?” I wish this practice was more accepted. I once had a professor, possibly the only professor I ever bonded with during the past three years at U of M, who did not wince at the sight of comma splices, and forgotten indentations at the beginning of new paragraphs. She looked at them as a signature of our writing, man, you have to love creative writing professors. So I began to write in my own way, my own style, the way I think. My mind is loaded with ideas, and comma splices also, I suppose.

I do not edit. I do not study grammar. I rarely write a sentence without spelling at least one word wrong. But I think broadly and write freely, and hope that all who read have an open mind.

--

--