Consider all user journeys when writing a website pop-up

Helena Pilih
Deconstructing Product Copy
1 min readAug 7, 2016

I was reading an online article that linked out to a book. The book sounded interesting so of course I clicked the link. This is the page I was sent to:

It’s like asking for my digits before you introduce yourself.

As a first-time visitor, I have no idea what kind of publisher OR Books are. Exclusive content and a 15% discount are compelling triggers, but they’re ineffective when I have no context on who I’m subscribing to.

When we’re so close to our companies and products, it’s easy to forget that outsiders (our potential users) won’t immediately know what we’re about. So it’s all the more important to remember that while we are aware of the context, not everybody else is.

--

--