5 WAYS TO SHIFT FROM SCARCITY TO ABUNDANCE IN YOUR BUSINESS

Badassery Magazine
Badassery Magazine
Published in
6 min readNov 12, 2018

We hear a lot about abundance and how to manifest abundance. But do you really know what abundance is? It isn’t just about money although who wouldn’t like more money in their life? To see what abundance is we must first look at scarcity.

Scarcity is simply a lack. It may be a lack of resources, time, money, expertise, peace of mind, whatever you can think of when you think of things you need or want. When you operate in scarcity in your business you are operating from a place of lack. The opposite of scarcity is abundance. Abundance is having plenty of whatever you need, time, resources, money, etc.

There are five ways we can shift from a place of scarcity to abundance in our businesses. Let’s look at them.

MINDSET

This one is first and foremost. If you think in scarcity with your thoughts then nothing you do will create abundance. You can’t manifest if your mindset is in the wrong place. No one told me when I started a business that mindset was one of the most important tools in my arsenal to create a successful business and a happy life. I wasn’t taught these skills as a child and didn’t have them as an adult. But now I spend time every day on my mindset. I examine my thoughts. If I am speaking negatively to myself or thinking in scarcity I stop myself and reframe. I raise my vibe. I embrace meditation, energy work, exercise, and music to raise my vibe to match what I want to manifest. If you take away nothing from this know that mindset is of utmost importance. Guard your thoughts.

ACTION

It’s great to think in abundance but if you don’t put your thoughts into action then what is the point. A business doesn’t build itself. You have to show up, do the things and create what you want. The Universe will support you when you take action. Put out there the things that you want more of. Ask for what you want and then act as if it is yours. Denise Duffield-Thomas talks about this in Lucky Bitch. She said that she didn’t just think about what she wanted but acted as if it was already hers. She went all in with her actions. Are you going all in or are you hoping the Universe will simply deliver that in your lap? Take the next step. Do the next best thing.

COMMUNITY VS. COMPETITORS

This is a big one for me. I honestly have never participated in the competition game in business. It was always a no-brainer for me to show up and give to my colleagues. To share, connect and collaborate. I always figured we were better together than apart. But, I see that many women don’t think this way. They want to compare themselves to the women around them and compete or worse yet copy what they are doing. You can do the same exact things as another business woman but you will get different results. Why? You can’t be her. Stop trying to be. Be you and share what you have to give. There are enough challenges in this world for women business owners without competing. Competition comes from a place of scarcity. We think there isn’t enough business for everyone so we have to scrap and hustle. There is enough for us all. Abundance tells us this. Show up and be part of your community of badass women. Support them. Encourage them. Applaud them even if they are doing the exact same things as you. You will find that you all rise together and together is a much better place to be.

GIVE, TEACH, EDUCATE, SHARE

I’m not saying you need to give away everything you do or not get paid. I’m all about women getting paid well for the value they bring. What I’m talking about here is how do you serve others. Serve others? If that is a foreign concept to you then you are operating in scarcity. Serving doesn’t mean bowing to someone else, letting them walk all over you or telling you what to do. It means showing up and giving the best of you. Teaching, educating and giving to others in a way that brings value to them. I think of so many women I know that show up in their communities every week and share. They share their time, knowledge, friendship and are encouragers. They give of themselves even while building their own businesses. It’s simply who they are because they are living in abundance whether they make $30,000 a year or $560,000 a year.

EMBRACE THE WOO

I remember when I heard the term woo I thought WTF is woo? For me, it is the spiritual side of life and something I’ve embraced my entire life. I just had never heard it called woo until the catchy term came about. I repeat to myself daily “Everything is always working out for me” and I truly believe it. I know the Universe is here to support me and bring me what I need. Does that mean everything always goes my way? No. Let me say hell no! It doesn’t. It does mean that when stuff happens in my life or my business I can either fight it and resist the lesson or I can roll with it and say that this too will work out for the best for me. And guess what? When you think that way, things do work out for the best for you. It is amazing what happens when you surrender to the Universe and know you are loved and supported in all you do. Try it. I promise you will be amazed at how it changes your life and your business. Ease and flow. It happens when you are in alignment.

So I encourage you today to pick at least one of these five things and work to shift it. Your life will be better for it and your business will be better for it. If you want to continue the conversation of moving from scarcity to abundance join me in my free Facebook group https://www.facebook.com/groups/scarcitytoabundance/ as we travel this journey together.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

AUDREY BLACKBURN

I have a passion for seeing nonprofits and small businesses thrive! With over 20+ years experience in nonprofit and small business accounting I have the expertise to work with any nonprofit to achieve their mission or small businesses to be more profitable. My education along with my unique experience gives me a different insight into how to deliver exceptional value to those I serve. People work with me because they trust me and they know that the decisions I make for their organization are the ones I would make for my own. I don’t simply deliver a service, I really partner with those I work with to push them to be their best selves and achieve their goals.

But what things really light me up? Racing my car at Virginia International Raceway. I got the chance to do that and loved it. 120 mph in the pouring rain was an amazing experience. I could definitely race cars for a living and I love watching NHRA drag racing events. I’m an adrenaline junkie. It scares the shit out of me, which is why I do it. My husband and I went on our first date to a NHRA drag race. So, I have been married for 13 years and have a 26 year old son, a 10 year old daughter and a 2 year oldgranddaughter. I truly started over in life when I was in my 30’s but it wasn’t until my 40’s that I realized my dream of owning my own business. For me, there is nothing better!

blackburnconsultingnc.com

Disclosure of Material Connection: This is a “sponsored post.” The company who sponsored it compensated Badassery Magazine via a payment, gift, or something else of value to write it. Badassery Magazine only recommend products or services we use personally and believe will be good for our readers. We disclose this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

--

--

Badassery Magazine
Badassery Magazine

Global Community for Empowered Female Entrepreneurs. Join us at badasserymag.com and on Facebook at bit.ly/wearebadassery