THE BAD SMELL PROMPT

Are Some Top Writers Just So Daft That They Can’t Pull Their Head Out of Their Own Asses?

Are you intentionally just a jackass or do you not know that your shit stinks?

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Badform

--

Photo by Rainer Bleek on Unsplash

I mean the title with the most lighthearted of intentions here…well, sort of. I just engaged with a writer with about two times the audience as I have with and what I had just realized had about a fraction of the credibility.

I wasn’t trying to undermine anyone’s work. I was simply adding to it and reiterating it. Then, there that came. Something came wafting over my way. It started to stink. It was so stinky that I wanted to run away and wish I had never engaged with this person.

It was their…hubris. Ach, I wanted to gag!! It smelled so bad that you know you stepped in shit as you’ve done it but you don’t know how to disengage because at this point it’s gotten all over your boots and you’re probably going to have to wash, clean, and scrub this shit out now that you’ve really done it.

You know that person who is so infallible and perfect that anything you say to them is considered a different thing and not equal or the same as what they’re saying even if it is? Yeah, that’s the thing that happened. I was making this person’s point over again and explaining how I interpreted and understood their work.

I generally found this person’s story agreeable and their points salient. I wasn’t coming in planning on sabotaging their story or trying to say anything against what they had to say, at all.

Yet, the stink of condescension and antagonistic dissent fell upon this anyway. “I had said that in my story,” or something to that effect as if I didn’t just read what you fucking had to say and basically just made me look like a dumbass when I was enhancing the experience as I had read, commented, and engaged with this dumbfuck.

Well, lesson learned. Don’t get near those stinky writers who have over 5K followers and can’t fucking take a supporting comment on their tedious original take anyway. They will just attack you on it, even if you are supporting their words.

And I’m not a clap shamer, but what is up with these passive-aggressive 1,2,3,4, and 5 clappers on your story even if their intention is to eventually just consume you anyway? I’m not referring to some of my regular readers who only clap with 1 or 2 claps as default and who leave meaningful comments on my posts in addition to them. That last part wasn’t about you.

I’m really just talking about those polite clappers who do it to make themselves look good and then prepare to take you down with their words or pass judgment without reassessing the situation after comments have amended the previously judged interaction. Do I have to spell the entire thing out for you?

I barely have the nose and the stomach to interact with you on this experience because you are waiting to make me look stupid and I chose to come into this thinking that if you’re writing about something I agree with and I make it clear that I agree with you, we have no beef.

Oh, man, is that the wrong approach with these people. Their stink stays on you. Long after you’ve commented and engaged with them.

It’s like that skunk that gets you and then you have to burn all your clothes and spend days in tomato soup or whatever. The stench just sticks on you because you can’t quite shake the shock of it all and the smell is really bad.

The stink of my egg and burrito-fueled fart fest in a windowless truck is even less stinky than trying to shake off the stench of this.

Oh, and by the way, I just looked back at what you said again while writing this, dear writer, against what I had said and they were actually two different things and not exactly the same thing but with similar concepts so yeah I go back to what I originally said, “I was only adding to the context of what you were trying to say.”

Did YOU even read what I had written or did you just assume that I a) didn’t know what I was talking about, or b) assume what I had just written? Hmm, an interesting turn of events here…

Why would you make it seem like I was just leaving a generic filler comment and not an actually meaningful, helpful comment to complement your story? Are you trying to insinuate that I didn’t read your story?

Am I not capable of reading and genuinely engaging with you? Is this a mere projection because you write so much and have so many “followers” that you can’t just stop and realize that there are people out there who actually want to help others aside from yourself?

I’m not trying to sound bitter, I’m just trying to literally blow the stench out that you left in my nose today. I’m not trying to be mean, but in the words of the rapper, Ice Cube, “you better check yourself before you fucking wreck yourself”, high and mighty “top writer”. And mic drop. Badform, bitches.

UNRELATED LESSON: A blue whale is the loudest animal in the world registering 188 dB of sound at about 160 km (99.4 miles). This is almost as loud as that Slayer concert that I was tricked into attending that one time. Anyway, isn’t hyperbole a great writing tool? I actually joined into the mosh pit at one point and clocked about two dozen twinky teenagers to the ground.

No one was harmed during the making of this sick metal music video though and I’m pretty sure those kids had it coming for listening to Slayer on a loop all day. I think I’m getting woozy from these nighttime pills I just took.

I should probably try and conk out listening to the calming noises of Sodom, the very calm and lovely lyrics from this wonderful German thrash metal band.

Video of Sodom-Epitome of Torture from YouTube provided by Aleksandar Stević

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Badform

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.