The Passive Aggressive Way To Find Out Whether A Man Is Listening To You Or Not

Sometimes You Need To Be Sneaky

Lilith Helstrom
Badform
Published in
2 min readSep 8, 2022

--

Image Courtesy of Ketut Subiyanto on Pexels.

Most men listen to other men more than they listen to women. Every woman knows this.

It can be very frustrating to be talking to a man and see his eyes glaze over as he stares into space.

When you angrily declare, “You’re not listening to me!”

They always snap back into the moment, whether they were listening or not, and insist that they heard every word you said.

When you ask them to recall what you said, though, they’ll have excuses for why they can’t.

It’s because they have gotten into the habit of tuning women out and as a defense mechanism, to keep from getting into trouble for it, they have taught their ears only to listen when your tone of voice changes.

This is why they hear everything you say when you angrily proclaim that they weren’t listening, but can’t recall anything you were saying in a regular tone of voice.

So what I like to do to put men on edge and test if they are listening at the same time is to keep my voice in the exact same, happy tone as my regular speaking voice and then demand to know if they’re listening to me or not.

--

--

Lilith Helstrom
Badform

I talk about religion, sex, emotions, and life. Whatever I happen to be thinking about that I think might be interesting. Top Writer in multiple categories.