Blueberry Muffin Golden Bars

Kas Tebbetts
Baking in Black and White
5 min readMay 15, 2015

--

You all know how much I love baked goods that defy meal stereotypes. Carrot cake muffins for breakfast? Check. A more decadent version of a blueberry muffin for dessert? Check. If you’re not sure what a golden bar is, read on. I didn’t know either. Also important to note: this is a one-pot recipe! All of the best ingredients get mixed together and then thrown in the oven. Perfect for a home-y treat without all the fuss.

From Best Recipes from Southern Kitchens: Desserts (1967)

I adapted this recipe from the one for “Golden Bars” on the right. Sound vague and slightly mysterious to you? A lot of recipes in antique cookbooks do. Though I didn’t really know what a golden bar was, I decided to take advantage of the season’s fresh fruit and make a blueberry version. I would now say that a golden bar is something like a fudgy brownie minus the chocolate part. That makes it a great vehicle for just about anything! Especially blueberries, a little lemon zest, and some cinnamon to mimic our favorite muffins. These are a 2015 spin on a 1960s staple.

If I had time to have teatime, I would serve these at my tea party. If I was having a dinner party, a warm blueberry golden bar topped with a bit of vanilla ice cream would be divine. If I was a high school student struggling to make it through exams (which I am), I would sneak a few bars late at night and the share the rest of them with my hungry friends at 10 AM at school the next day. After all, these are meal-neutral baked items: perfect for snacking at any time!

I did have to make some major adjustments to this recipe. I used butter instead of shortening (there has been a tad bit too much Crisco in my life lately) and reduced the amount. I also reduced the sugar, and increased the baking time by quite a bit because I used a deeper pan. A shallower pan would be better, so I am going to recommend a 9x13 inch at least. These bars stay super duper soft and moist on the inside- a definite plus. There is nothing more disappointing than a dry blueberry muffin. (Except maybe a failed math test… but we’re not going to talk about that).

Now grab that pot and whisk and get baking!

Blueberry Muffin Golden Bars

Makes: 15–20 bars, Time: 20 mins prep, 40 mins baking

Ingredients: 3/4 cup of butter, 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour + 1 tbsp, 2 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, dash of nutmeg, 1 1/2 cups brown sugar (slightly less if you prefer), 2 eggs beaten, 1 tsp vanilla extract, zest of one lemon, 1/2 pint fresh blueberries (about 1 1/4 cups)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Grease and line a 9x13 inch (or shallower) baking ban with parchment or wax paper and set aside.

2. In a large pot, melt butter over medium heat. Set aside to cool.

3. While the butter cools, sift together flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Also, toss blueberries with about 1 tbsp of flour. This will keep them from sinking to the bottom of the batter when we add them in.

4. Stir dry ingredients into slightly cooled butter until well incorporated.

5. Stir in vanilla and brown sugar, and add the beaten egg once you are sure your butter has cooled completely.

6. Fold in floured blueberries and lemon zest using a spatula. Fill lined pan with batter.

7. Bake for 35–45 minutes, depending on how deep your pan is. Check on the bars at 30 minutes by inserting a skewer or toothpick into the middle of the pan. If the skewer has batter on it, return the pan to the oven for 10 more minutes and then check again. If the top is browning too much, you can tent it with foil.

8. Allow the bars to cool completely before slicing them into small pieces. Because these bars are so moist, they store best in the refrigerator.

Enjoy these decadent treats in small pieces. They are sweet and soft and hopefully remind you of your childhood with blueberry muffins. If you really want to be reminded of your childhood, then by all means have a great big bar and enjoy the sugar rush!

I don’t about you guys, but it’s been a rough couple of weeks for me. I hope everyone gets to take some time to themselves, indulge in a comforting treat, and remember, a day at the beach, on the lake, or in bed with a good book is only a few more weeks away!

Summer is almost here!

We can make it. I have faith.

You can follow Baking in Black and White here on Medium, and also on Pinterest and Tumblr for more good old-fashioned, vintage-cookbook inspired recipes.

Don’t hesitate to comment, recommend, pin, and reblog!

--

--

Kas Tebbetts
Baking in Black and White

antique cookbook blog + stories of food → neighborhood histories and stories of place