Finding Purpose While Waiting on God

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond
Published in
3 min readMar 3, 2024
Photo by Akira Hojo on Unsplash

Today’s sermon was so good. The message was about God’s timing. I like messages like this because they remind me that God’s timing is usually when I least expect it. Often, we get caught up in worry when we expect something to happen when we think it needs to happen, and it doesn’t happen the way that we want it to. God’s timing reminds us that there is power in waiting, and there’s something so sweet about celebrating the unexpected.

This sermon reminded me of a few times recently when I felt like I was waiting indefinitely with no change in sight.

There was a time when I thought I would get promoted, but I didn’t. I cried and questioned myself. I searched for answers from people. I thought that all my hard work went to waste. I felt imposter syndrome had made me believe I was no longer worthy of a promotion. Eventually, I noticed that I needed a shift in mindset and focus. I began focusing on the things that mattered in my life: my family, friends, and the e people I lead and giving my time to the church and those in need. Before I knew it, I was getting a phone call that I was selected for a promotion. I still, to this day, remain focused on what matters, and I’m trying to keep my eye on what God intends for me to be doing every single day.

There was a time when I thought I’d be single because God moved me to a city where I didn’t know I’d find anyone to marry. God sat me down quickly to remind me that the perfect person for me will not be found in my timeline. Honestly, I wasted a lot of time in my 20s focused on the wrong thing, so it should have been no surprise in my 30s that God was making me wait. I wanted to be dating towards marriage years ago, and it didn’t happen. One day, while dedicating all my time to volunteering, helping others, and spending time with God, my future husband appeared to me through a mutual friend. Now we are engaged! God is good and works miracles in His own time!

God finds ways to shift my focus every single time. When I think something should happen and it does not, I worry because I want to be in control. I lack patience because I believe everything needs to happen immediately. When I shift my focus to what matters, God always surprises me. What I’ve learned now is how to be consistent. I need to show up for those less fortunate, be involved in matters that bring justice to those who need it, read my Bible, be empathetic, build community, and so much more. Instead of worrying about my life, I need to focus on the things God wants me to focus on. My story was already written, and I had nothing to worry about, honestly. God would never let me fail. These are the things I must remember when things don’t go my way.

Today’s sermon served as a reminder that God’s timing is perfect, even when it doesn’t align with our expectations. Through personal anecdotes of waiting and eventual fulfillment, it became evident that while we may feel lost or uncertain during waiting periods, there is a divine purpose at work. Whether awaiting a promotion, seeking a life partner, or navigating other life transitions, God consistently nudges us to refocus our attention on what truly matters: love, faith, service, and community. By relinquishing control and embracing patience, we open ourselves up to the unexpected blessings and miracles that unfold in God’s time. As we continue through life, I hope we remain steadfast to the truth that our stories are already written, guided by the unwavering hand of a loving and faithful God who will never let us fail.

--

--

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond

Published author. "Exploring personal growth, faith, mental wellness, fitness, mindfulness, and minimalism. 🌿 #WellnessJourney"