Five Revitalizing Practices on My Track Comeback

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond
Published in
4 min readFeb 2, 2024
Photo by Blocks Fletcher on Unsplash

As life has its ups and downs and I start to rediscover what life has to offer, my journey as a runner has taken unexpected turns. During this season of rediscovery, I find myself lacing up my running shoes again, reigniting the passion that once fueled my every stride. I’ll tell you how I became a runner again and five things I’m doing to prepare for my next race. The pavement beneath my feet feels so good!

I started rerunning longer distances, and I’m feeling a runner’s high. I used to run all the time pre-pandemic. Once the pandemic hit, I lost interest in running because, to be honest, I was always walking outdoors. The only place that I could be during that time was out in nature. So I got tired and burned out from running.

Last year, I decided to get back on the running wagon slowly. I signed up for a half marathon that wouldn’t take place until the following year. On some days, I’d run sprints, and on other days, I’d walk or jog on an incline, but I struggled to do more than 5 minutes without walking, and I would not complete more than a 20-minute run in one sitting. I also only ran on the treadmill. Running outside seemed like an impossible task for me.

Photo by Hannes Egler on Unsplash

Well, this weekend, I will be running a 10k outdoors! This week, I’ve run 12 miles, and my weekend run will take that to over 18 miles in one week. This is the most I’ve run in years, and I’m proud of myself. What I’m most in awe of is my body and mind and how this duo got me back to where I wanted to be. I haven’t run a half marathon or any other distance race since I was 32. Here we are five years later, crushing the same goals but with more wisdom.

Here are five things I’m doing to get ready for my race:

  1. I don’t overtrain. I used to run daily, and I used to start training for my races several months in advance. My knees and hips suffered, and in turn, I’d have to take off more time than the average runner.
  2. I cross-train. I used to run, and that’s it. That was my workout and my hobby. As I’ve gotten older and wiser, I’ve realized that exercises that include strengthening muscles and other lateral movements are just as beneficial to me as a runner. They help me become better as a runner during and after a training season.
  3. I eat before, during, and after my runs. To some people, this may seem impossible. I was against it initially, but now my thought process has changed. Before my runs, I eat a protein bar; during my runs, I fuel with electrolytes, and after my runs, I fuel with protein. Instead of running on empty and feeling that the run is hard, I now think the distance I am running is more attainable.
  4. I stretch before and after my runs. I’m not too fond of stretching. I know this is odd from a registered yoga teacher, but I can’t explain it. I would rather go to a yoga class than a stretching class. Now, if I’m running, I don’t miss the warm-up or the stretch. I can’t start my run cold. I need to warm up my entire body to go on a run, and I need to stretch after doing the same forward movement for over an hour. Stretching has benefitted me as I’m getting older by preventing injury and allowing me to keep running.
  5. I take days off. I don’t run every day. Currently, I’m running about 3 to 4 days weekly because I’m training for a half marathon. In between these days, I’m either taking a day off or cross-training. Taking days off ensures that I’m mentally and physically capable of doing the next run, the next run, and the next run.

As I cross the finish line of this introspective race, I’ve not only reclaimed the title of a runner but also discovered a connection to the essence of who I am. Through the miles and moments, I’ve uncovered strength, perseverance, and a renewed sense of purpose. With each step forward, I carry the wisdom gained from this journey, forever grateful for the transformative power of returning to the road. Each race may twist and turn, but as a runner, I’ve learned to embrace the path because it leads to self-discovery and endless possibilities.

--

--

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond

Published author. "Exploring personal growth, faith, mental wellness, fitness, mindfulness, and minimalism. 🌿 #WellnessJourney"