Longing for the In-Between: Pros and Cons of Living in a Fast-Paced vs. a Slow-Paced City

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond
Published in
4 min readJan 14, 2024
Photo by Jeffery Erhunse on Unsplash

I grew up in a metropolitan area, and I’ve lived in larger cities for a significant portion of my life. A few years ago, I moved to the slowest-paced town I’d ever lived in. Honestly, I was devastated when I moved there and couldn’t wait to leave once I got there. However, there are a few reasons why this city grew on me.

  1. The people were kind and cared about me. I developed some amazing friendships and a large community while I was there.
  2. It’s easy to get involved. I volunteered my butt off. If you needed my time and energy for something, I said, “Sign me up!”
  3. I began to engage in hobbies I would not otherwise have time to do. I started painting, and I started a business.
  4. I got engaged. I genuinely think my relationship with God blossomed so much that I could focus on what truly matters. In doing so, my forever person found his way to me.
  5. I became more fiscally responsible. It felt good to have a budget I could stick to because there was nowhere to go and nothing to do.
  6. I focused on my schoolwork. I was getting a master’s degree in the middle of the country, which is top-tier. There were no distractions whatsoever.
Photo by Rihards Sergis on Unsplash

On the other hand, living in a slow-paced city has a few quirks that I could leave behind.

  1. People are a little nosey. The town is small, and not much is happening. Try not to be on display.
  2. The closest metropolitan cities were 3–5 hours in each direction.
  3. There wasn’t much to do there. There aren’t any major sports teams or concerts. The highlight of the week is the farmer’s market. That’s it.
  4. The city wasn’t very diverse. Enough said.
  5. You have to drive to get everywhere. Public transportation is lacking, and there’s nothing to see between points A and B.
Photo by Christian DeKnock on Unsplash

If I am going to talk about the slow-paced city, you need something to contrast it with before I get to my point. I love living in the big city, but there are a few drawbacks.

  1. Crime. It’s inescapable and rampant, and there’s more of it than in smaller, more rural towns.
  2. Cost of living. It’s high, and it keeps climbing.
  3. Induced stress. You feel like you have to be extra vigilant.
  4. There are a lot of people. Understandably, some people may like that, but I don’t prefer Trader Joe’s to have a checkout line that wraps around the market.

However, on the other hand, there are aspects of larger cities that are unmatched and draw me in every time.

  1. The cultural experiences are top-tier. These larger cities have the best food, the best festivals, and the best concerts.
  2. Job opportunities are more diverse. This can allow a person to find more jobs that align with their skills and interests.
  3. Public transportation is better. There’s traffic in big cities, we all know that, but there’s also likely some transit system that is more convenient to the everyday commuter.
  4. The social scene is lively. Big cities can access significant sports teams, networking events, and other gatherings.
Photo by Stephen Mease on Unsplash

So I lived in both, and I’ve laid out the pros and cons for both, but why do I long for the in-between? It’s specific to me or my personality, so I don’t expect you to understand, but I will tell you anyway.

  1. I long for safety. I want to run outdoors without being on guard the entire time.
  2. The sirens are too loud, but the quiet is too quiet.
  3. I want a community that’s not too big and not too small.
  4. I’m not fond of crowds, but I don’t want to be secluded either.
  5. I don’t want to be stuck in traffic all the time, but I also want to be able to walk to the neighborhood market.
  6. I want to be able to hop on an Amtrak or commuter train to explore another city.
  7. I want to be able to shop for my favorite brands and shop locally, too.

The choice between living in a fast-paced city or a slow-paced town ultimately depends on my preferences and lifestyle choices. For those seeking the hustle and bustle of urban life, fast-paced cities offer career opportunities, cultural diversity, and vibrant social scenes. On the other hand, the charm of slow-paced towns lies in their close-knit communities, lower cost of living, and a more relaxed pace of life.

Each lifestyle comes with its unique set of pros and cons, making the decision a personal one. Striking the right balance between the energy of a bustling city and the tranquility of a smaller town might be the key for those who long for an in-between experience. Ultimately, whether you thrive in the fast lane or cherish the stroll, finding the perfect pace is a journey of self-discovery shaped by individual values, priorities, and aspirations.

--

--

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond

Published author. "Exploring personal growth, faith, mental wellness, fitness, mindfulness, and minimalism. 🌿 #WellnessJourney"