Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond
Published in
3 min readJan 8, 2024

--

Minimalist Living: Simplifying Your Space for a Healthier Mind

Imagine this.

You walk into your home, and there’s a place for one pair of shoes on your quaint shoe rack. There are enough hooks for one coat, a ball cap, and a reusable grocery bag. You have a small umbrella stand large enough to hold an umbrella for you and a guest.

You continue to your kitchen, and everything is put away; your counters are clear because you have enough space for what you need most. The only thing on your countertop is your coffee machine and air fryer because they’re too big to go into a cabinet. You don’t have a coffee machine because you use a French press or enjoy pouring over coffee.

Upstairs in your bedroom, you only have a little stuff. There’s your bed, a dresser, a nightstand, a chair and a lamp. You may have a plant, one book, a journal, and a candle, but everything else is put away because there’s space enough for you to do that.

In your bathroom, toiletries are minimal.

Body Wash/Soap

Face wash

Washcloth

Razor

Moisturizer

Lotion

Deodorant

Perfume/Oils

Small hair bag

Small makeup kit

Do you see where I’m going yet?

We live in a world where we physically gather more than we need. Physically gathering more than we need can also bleed over into our mental space. When you are at capacity, mentally, do you stop to take inventory of your physical space? What is in your home that you don’t need that may contribute to the chaos you feel in your mind?

I had way too many clothes and shoes. I collected many items over the years that I could no longer fit or never wore more than once. For me, holding on to these things seemed wasteful. Additionally, never feeling like I had clothes to wear that fit me and the style I wanted bothered me. I donated the items I no longer loved, created a year-round capsule wardrobe out of clothes I already owned, and began adding a few additional pieces over time. When I have somewhere to go, I always have something to wear; I mix and match items. I also have a clean closet. Clothes are not stuffed into my closet; I can see every item I own.

You can do this exercise throughout your home. Instead of decor, buy functional items like plants, candles, and diffusers. Instead of popular toiletry items, find what you like and stick to that brand. Instead of having several sheet sets, two for each bed in your home will suffice. If you have wooden blinds, you don’t need curtains.

These are just a few ideas to start clearing out your space. In doing so, I hope you can start clearing your mind. Embracing minimalist living is not merely about decluttering physical spaces; it’s a profound journey toward cultivating a healthier mind. By simplifying our surroundings, we create room for mental clarity, reduced stress, and enhanced well-being. Our intentional choices in minimizing distractions and focusing on what adds value to our lives contribute to a more mindful and fulfilling existence. So, as you embark on this minimalist lifestyle, remember that the journey towards a healthier mind starts with simplifying your space and letting go of the unnecessary, paving the way for a more meaningful and balanced life.

--

--

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond

Published author. "Exploring personal growth, faith, mental wellness, fitness, mindfulness, and minimalism. 🌿 #WellnessJourney"