Riding the Wave, Feeling the Rush, and Avoiding the Rip Tide

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond
Published in
3 min readFeb 1, 2024
Photo by Matt Hardy on Unsplash

Today’s blog is short and to the point. I want to navigate the highs and lows of life, celebrating the thrill of riding the waves when things are really good while learning the art of avoiding the rip tides that can pull us under. I’m about to dive into the dynamic nature of existence and tell you how I ride the waves of life with resilience and discernment.

I’m riding a wave right now. I feel a lot of momentum in my personal and professional career, which can get overwhelming sometimes. I often remind myself that I don’t need to do it all right now. As a person with many rules, I am also working on telling myself to relax and let go of planning for things that don’t need it.

For example, I could plan my blogging content, but that’s not my thing. I have a lot to write about because I’m living my life. If I don’t have something to say, I won’t write. For me, it’s as simple as that. When I start to think about blog planning, it feels like a daunting task that I need to hurry and finish before the night’s end, and I don’t want that.

Photo by Geio Tischler on Unsplash

Another example is that I have a lot of projects to complete at work. I enjoy crossing things off of my list, but on the days I’m working on the same project for several days at a time, I get frustrated. However, I remind myself that these are projects that have little tasks. Projects are supposed to take time. I’m supposed to chip away at each task until it’s completed. So, instead of being frustrated, I use a project management tool that allows me to assign myself tasks and cross them off as I go.

My last example is that I have a lot of little undertakings to complete at home that I’ve conquered, but others I have not. I want to do it all in one weekend, but thinking about this makes me feel defeated. Instead, I’m choosing to do little by little. Who cares if I don’t put those shelves up for another week? At least I still have my sanity, and I’m not on the verge of exhaustion.

I must remember that life’s waves are inevitable, but so is my ability to navigate them. By embracing the momentum, learning from the challenges, and avoiding the rip tides, I encourage myself to keep going with grace and grit. I hope you find strength in the waves, joy in the rush, and wisdom to steer clear of the rip tides as you continue your unique journey through the ocean of life.

Photo by Shot by Cerqueira on Unsplash

--

--

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond

Published author. "Exploring personal growth, faith, mental wellness, fitness, mindfulness, and minimalism. 🌿 #WellnessJourney"