Sometimes You Can’t Make it to The Gym

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond
Published in
3 min readFeb 7, 2024
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Life can often throw unexpected obstacles our way, making it challenging to stick to our regular fitness routines. Whether it’s a hectic work schedule, family commitments, or unexpected emergencies, there are times when making it to the gym isn’t feasible.

And that’s okay.

I struggle now and have for years with missing a day at the gym. It’s not what you think. I’m not addicted to exercise, but I am attached to the feeling I have post-workout. Have you ever heard of a workout high? I wouldn’t say I like how I feel while working out, but my therapist pointed something out to me a few weeks ago that I have had a lot of time to sit with and think about over time. I am an athlete. I always have been. I fell off from doing what I would call more athletic workouts after my job assigned me to a location where I didn’t have an immediate support system for a while. I pretty much worked out at home. I no longer went to a gym, and I didn’t have any workout buddies. It was just me, my Peloton bike, my weights, and my apartment’s treadmill. Sure, all of these equipment can contribute to top athletic performance, but I was doing the minimum.

Photo by Tim Foster on Unsplash

I like CrossFit, HIIT, sprinting, pulling sleds, relay races, half marathons, AMRAPS, EMOMs, and hot yoga sculpt. I like workouts that push my athletic ability to the max. I feel accomplished, I get a good sweat, and I feel like I can conquer anything that comes my way. So, at the beginning of the year, I switched from traditional weightlifting and sprinting to CrossFit workouts, and I resumed training for a half marathon. I’m not going to lie to you; these workouts have been tough, and I have not been able to finish them exactly as written. The last time I did anything this tough was during the pandemic, but I’m not giving up!

Because of how tough these workouts have been, there are times when I feel exhausted, and I have to take an unplanned break. I try to talk myself into doing my workout; I even put on my gym clothes, but I don’t make it to the gym. Why? Because I’m learning to listen to my body, not working out for one day is not the end of the world.

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Sometimes, you need a little impromptu rest and recovery before returning to it. I ran 6 miles, had a rest day, and then the following day, I ran 3 miles and did an AMRAP. I am getting used to these workouts, but introducing new things takes time, and it is okay to rest when needed. So I will prioritize rest and hit the gym hard like I always do the following day, and it will be like I didn’t skip a beat.

While making it to the gym regularly is undoubtedly beneficial for your health and fitness, there will inevitably be times when it’s impossible. Remember, it’s not always about when you work out, but rather the dedication and determination you bring to your fitness journey that truly matters. So, the next time you find yourself unable to make it to the gym, don’t lose hope – get creative, stay active, and keep moving forward towards a healthier, stronger you.

--

--

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond

Published author. "Exploring personal growth, faith, mental wellness, fitness, mindfulness, and minimalism. 🌿 #WellnessJourney"