Sunday Morning Routine: Is it a Sabbath, or is it a Scramble?

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond
Published in
3 min readJan 27, 2024
Photo by Zoe on Unsplash

This year, I want my Sunday morning routine to be sacred. I like this day to be my Sabbath, and I want it to be held as a day where I am not working for others. However, it has been an absolute struggle to get a routine down.

What is a Sabbath anyway?

The Bible says, “Some judge one day to be better than another, while others judge all days to be alike. Let all be fully convinced in their own minds. Those who observe the day, observe it in honor of the Lord. Also those who eat, eat in honor of the Lord, since they give thanks to God; while those who abstain, abstain in honor of the Lord and give thanks to God.“ – Romans‬ ‭14‬:‭5‬-‭6‬ ‭NRSV‬‬

What does this mean?

This passage from Romans 14:5–6 emphasizes that individuals may have different beliefs about certain practices, such as observing specific days or dietary choices. The key message is to respect and honor each person’s convictions as long as they are sincerely dedicated to serving and giving thanks to the Lord.

How have I put this into practice so far?

On my Sabbath, I practice mindfulness. I do everything with intention. I get up and do my routine, but then, as I make my cup of coffee or matcha, I do so with God on my mind. I would not be in my home without God’s grace, mercy, and care. Currently, I view church virtually because I haven’t found a physical church home yet. I treat virtual service like physical service, listening intently and without interruption. After church service, I may go for a walk or watch a movie, or I may even take a nap.

Intentionality for me includes slow movement. I am ALWAYS moving or doing something, and I’m not too fond of that about myself. This is something I’m trying to change. I want to sit. I want to move slowly. I want to ponder. I want to analyze. I want to wonder. I want to be more intentional. I want to go further than the surface, and this requires mindfulness. This requires slow movement. This requires less doing of tasks and more planning, more asking why, more wondering how, and more preparing for what-if scenarios.

I want to dig deeper into the Bible and my relationship with God. I want to pray with more intentionality when people have prayer requests. I want to be more intentional with my time with others. Let’s discuss what feelings come up when reading Bible passages. What does our body feel like? Where did our minds go? On my Sabbath, I want to show up authentically with intention, moving slowly and savoring each moment as God guides me into a new week.

Whether your Sunday morning feels like a Sabbath or a scramble, finding a balance that aligns with your values and brings peace is what I want to foot-stomp on. Embrace the moments of peace and work through the chaos you cannot control. Create a routine that sets a positive tone for your week ahead.

--

--

Keriki Suber, MBA, MSW
Balance and Beyond

Published author. "Exploring personal growth, faith, mental wellness, fitness, mindfulness, and minimalism. 🌿 #WellnessJourney"