It’s Okay to Take a Break From Your Kids

Luke Rowley
Better Parent
Published in
3 min readDec 21, 2018

--

The house is quiet.

The only noises I can hear are the ticking of the clocks and the humming of the refrigerator.

It feels nice to be alone.

While I am tempted to feel bad about enjoying this time, I must remind myself how much I need this.

After all, I did spend the last few months in 2 graduate level classes while working full-time, writing nearly every evening, and, of course, taking care of my Family.

I am exhausted.

This time alone is critical to my physical and mental health, and especially to my effectiveness and energy as a parent.

So when my wife told me that her Mom invited her to go with her to visit her grandpa for a couple of days, I was grateful to consider that I might get some time alone. She could tell that I was looking forward to it as I told her that would be wonderful, and we discussed one of the common difficulties of parenting.

As parents, we often like we are always in go go go mode, without any end in sight. Whether you are a stay at home or working parent, it never seems to end.

If you work, you return home and try to give your best effort to help with the kids.

If you don’t work, you’re doing your best…

--

--

Luke Rowley
Better Parent

Goal Engineer. Get my free 5-day email course to learn my 4–4–4 goal-setting system so you can stick to your goals all year long: https://bit.ly/3f8bhyR