Introducing Band4Hope 2.0

Lachlan McWilliam
Band4Hope
Published in
3 min readMar 22, 2018

Almost two years ago, I distinctly remember driving towards Edinburgh, deliberating on what to do with this project. While our original website was having a mysterious meltdown, I was busy perfecting my skills in procrastination. This moment was preceded by a series of transformative personal events including the birth of my son, two career changes, a long-term relationship breakup and you guessed it, a spiritual awakening. Having come so far already, I knew I would regret not giving it one last shot.

It gives me great pleasure and relief to announce the return of band4hope.com. Re-designed from the ground, up to the cloud and one year overdue, you have no idea how happy I am to be finally sharing this news.

band4hope.com 2.0

Since the first Band4Hope was registered and passed on in 2012, Band4Hope has been given a serious upgrade. In fact, I too have received a serious upgrade through the enormous amount of personal development I’ve been doing (thanks to Karren and the team from Whitespace). I have come to understand that the true essence of Band4Hope is simply about sharing, caring and real-world connection.

During my overland travels through Africa in 2010, I had a dream about the concept for Band4Hope. Around the same time, I became aware of Ubuntu, the ancient African philosophy meaning that ‘humanity is a quality we owe to each other’; where we respect each other as individuals while co-existing as one global community, one tribe. So what I thought was an innovative charity fundraiser, has transformed to become a physical manifestation of Ubuntu; a gift.

Band4Hope is an experiment in the power of human connection. To see the difference we can make together as a worldwide community, by passing on the spirit of Ubuntu.

So now it’s over to you…

A Call to Action!

  1. Already have a Band4Hope?
    Register them on the map and start your HopeTrail using the unique ID. Then pass them on and share your #Stories4Hope. This is how we may work together as a community and maintain the flow of Ubuntu.
  2. New to the Project?
    Get involved by learning more about the project and send out some Ubuntu ripples of your own with some Band4Hopes from the shop.
The Brother Sister HopeTrail

I see this new website as a magical ship flying through the clouds, serving as a guide through this chaotic and unpredictable world, while Band4Hopes are the wings that propel us forward and keep us connected.

Each Band4Hope is like a modern day message in a bottle. I’m so excited to see where all your Band4Hopes travel, the new connections made and the #Stories4Hope they collect.

Let’s make history by turning this experiment into an extraordinary success.

My enormous gratitude and love to all of you for your patience and support. In particular, the following special people who made this possible, Karren Brooks and the team from Whitespace, Hamish & Miriam McWilliam, Studio Mimi Moon, Mum & Dad, Andrew McWilliam, Lucie Galt, Rich Jay, Avinash and the Dotsquares team, the team from Dent — Andrew Priestly, Daniel Priestly, Richard Wood, Tomas Svitorka, Long time supporters — Dr Jo Mitchell from The Mind Room, Sue Langley from Langley Group, Hurstpierpoint College and of course my darling little boy, Sholto, who motivates me to be the best version of myself everyday.

--

--