Deep in the heart of Texas: Bangladeshi Americans and U.S. Midterms

By Maria Islam

A saying in the Lone Star State goes: “I wasn’t born in Texas but I got here as fast as I could,” and Enayet Khan and Saiful Islam are two Bangladeshi Americans who would agree.

Texas may seem like an unlikely haven for diversity and immigrant communities, but economic stability and a general low-cost of living have made for the right circumstances for millions of immigrants. One in six Texans is born in another country and another 15% of native-born U.S. citizens in Texas have at least one parent who is an immigrant. And in an election year that has been dubbed a “battle for America’s soul,” both Khan and Islam are redefining what it means to be Texan.

They have both made their homes in the Dallas area and became involved in Texan politics and civic engagement efforts. Both have been working tirelessly the past few months to increase community political engagement and voter registration in the Dallas Fort-Worth area, and their efforts are bearing fruit.

Carrollton, Texas. By Maria Islam

The U.S. midterm elections this year have brought about unprecedented changes as grassroots coalitions mobilized to increase voter registration in a deeply gerrymandered and low-turnout state. Whether these efforts are enough to generate the “Blue Wave” in Texas is yet to be determined but, as Islam says, “No matter what the outcome of the election, we will be here to continue doing good work and building our communities.”

Maria Islam, from Texas, sat down with them for a chat.

Some of their answers were edited for clarity purposes

Saiful Islam
IT Professional, Executive Director of Good Citizens of DFW

When did you first decide to become involved in the American political system?

I was always political concerned, but was not involved directly in the political process aside from voting. I came to the U.S. in the early 1980s and have called it home since then. After the 2016 election though, I did not see the America I chose to live in — or the America I wanted to leave for my children — reflected in the highest office of the land. I saw a group that is divisive and thought they could define the American identity to be exclusive. I have previously voted Republican, but for the protection of America and preservation of democracy, I will be voting as a straight ticket Democrat.

What helped shape your American political identity?

I would say my cultural and religious upbringing influence my political identity the most. Knowing we will raise our children in this great country, my wife and I took our American political identities seriously. We have come a long way in engaging minority groups, and I have been involved in mobilizing South Asian and Muslim voters along with Enayet in the Dallas area. Despite our work thus far, much work remains ahead and I feel that we have barely scratched the surface when it comes to discourse and true dialogue.

I have been involved in my local mosque and with organizations such as NABIC, the North American Bangladeshi Islamic Community, and I have been a founding member of Good Citizens of DFW (the Dallas Fort-Worth region) to encourage greater civic engagement and dialogue from a values perspective. We bring the great values from our cultures to contribute to our new home.

What lessons did you learn from your involvement with the 2018 midterm elections?

From my work this election season engaging Texans of all types, I have found that humanity is the same all over. We all want the same things for our families — safety, opportunities, civil dialogue and discourse. We can disagree with the implementation of policies, but we have to work together to create a system that works for all of us.

What are your hopes for the 2018 elections in Texas?

I am always hopeful, but I feel that what’s missed in the question about hope is what needs to be addressed in Texas to create meaningful change. From this past campaign cycle, I am concerned about the rise of polarizing party politics and a trend towards celebrity politicians. Even within parties, there needs to be greater collaboration and support between groups and candidates. In Texas, we still have a long way to go when it comes to properly engaging identity groups and minorities. My hope is that the hard work done by all the grassroots activists this year sets a better foundation for engagement in 2020.

Do you have any words for Bangladeshi diaspora regarding political engagement?

As the diaspora, we all go through the hurdle of survival and fitting in. Of course we have to remember where we come from, but I’m concerned that there are two very distinct cultures and mindsets in each Bangladeshi American home — one of the Bangladeshi parents and one of their hyphenated American children. I see a disconnect between a generation clinging to their pasts in Bangladesh while ignoring the very real American identities their children are creating for themselves. I try to implore parents to do their best to understand their children and their children’s priorities. As Bangladeshi-American parents, we have to see how we can streamline our dreams and aspirations in our new home, and part of that task is to help our children build their civic identities in this new soil.

Enayet Khan
IT Consultant, Democratic Precinct Chair 2601

Enayet Khan. By Raisah Khan

When did you first decide to become involved in the American political system?

I have lived and raised my family in the Dallas area the last 24 years. When I became a U.S. citizen of the United States , I was looking for ways I could contribute to my new home. Serving in the military didn’t seem like an option for me at the time, so I chose to find out how I can be more civically engaged. That is what led me to become involved with the Democratic Party and serve as Precinct Chair in Irving, Texas.

What helped shape your American political identity?

My roots in Bangladesh inform my current American political identity. Protecting the vote and making sure minority and vulnerable voices are heard are values I bring to my new home in Texas.

What was your reaction to the 2016 presidential elections?

I was shocked and disappointed after the election. Although Irving, Texas is one of the most diverse cities in the country and we could still feel the effects of divisiveness. The tone set by the current administration has been very harmful to political discourse and global welfare.

What lessons did you learn from your involvement in the election process this year?

As Precinct Chair, I learned that representation in the current system requires a lot of hard work. Minority voices can easily be neglected, but change is possible if you mobilize and show up at the table to offer a solution that works best for your community.

What are your hopes for the 2018 elections in Texas?

I have been working very closely with the Beto O’Rourke campaign [2018 Democratic Candidate for U.S. Senate in Texas] and I sincerely hope he wins. He is simply the better candidate. Initially I wasn’t sure if we can gather enough momentum to bring about the change we need in Texas. The polls were not looking too hopeful earlier in 2018, but I have stopped putting as much weight in polls since the last elections. That said, voter registration and early voting results have been very promising, so I am very hopeful Beto will be the first Democratic senator from Texas in a long time.

Do you have any words for Bangladeshi diaspora regarding political engagement?

Yes — show up and speak up! We have to be present at the table in order to relay the concerns of our families and communities.

--

--

Bangladeshi Identity Submissions
The Bangladeshi Identity Project

Follow our Publication: The Bangladeshi Identity Project — Stories and art on growing up and living Bangladeshi in the West.