September: Artist of the Month | Ragib Choudhury | @iragib

Farah Billah
The Bangladeshi Identity Project
4 min readSep 5, 2018

Ragib Choudury is a 20 year old photographer from Nottingham, UK. When not pursuing his passion, he’s studying as a 3rd year student in Physiology and Pharmacology.

When asked for a fun fact about himself, he said, “If I could be any animal for the day I’d be a giant straw coloured fruit bat in Late October in Kasanka as that’s when there are mangos everywhere and I could eat mangos all day”

1. When and why did you start your craft?

I started photography about 3 years ago. I had just got Instagram and really enjoyed seeing cool photos of coffee or buildings. I started taking photos with my phone and I learnt that I really enjoyed it. I think It was not till I discovered the VSCO app that I really got into photography and editing. Once, I applied the A6 filter I was instantly hooked.

It’s always been a hobby, but I think the turning point for me was when someone messaged me asking if could take photos for them. I felt unprofessional as I was taking all my photos on an old iPhone 5s. Therefore, I bought a camera and started working with more and more people. The main reason I still do photography is to take a break from my university studies and visit cool places.

2. Tell us more about you, your craft, your inspirations, and your vision.

I’m 20 years old, and I’m a 3rd year Physiology and Pharmacology student at university. Currently my debate is to whether I should pursue a career in biology or photography — I’m leaning towards the former at the moment. My inspiration comes from a vast range of things, from cinematic films to nature. I take a lot of inspiration from photographers such as @andrewtkearns @AlessioAlbi @1924house @Bensasso. They help shape what I want to create in my photos which is a story. When I see my photos, I want to be able imagine a story or something that could be happening at that time. I really want to portray more emotions in my work in the future.

3. Were you supported by family or friends when you began your craft?

Initially, no. My family thought I shouldn’t be spending so much time on photography as I had to concentrate on my studies. There was no goal for my photography and it was just a very addictive hobby. However, it was not till I booked my first clients and was paid for my work my family saw a different side to it. From then my family have been very supportive of what I do.

4. As an artist in the Bangladeshi diaspora, do you feel represented in the larger art community?

In my photography community I don’t know another Bengali creative, which is okay and something I’ve never thought about before. I do feel represented in the community. I’ve hosted meetups and brought together people who have a passion for photography/videography/modelling. I believe people don’t mind where you are from in the creative industry. It’s the passion for the art that brings everyone together.

5. What advice would you give to your younger self about your art?

Your work is better than you think. Don’t be afraid of contacting someone thinking they would decline your offer because your work is not good enough. Stay persistent and don’t be lazy.

Check out more of Ragib on his website, on Instagram at @iragib, Facebook, YouTube and on his online shop!

& Check-in with the Bangladeshi Identity Project for every new Artist of the Month!

--

--