New York you tired me out, but I still love you.

Hannah Bain
bannahhain
Published in
5 min readOct 13, 2016

--

t has been exactly 10 years sine I last came to New York, in my opinion this is too long. New York took my heart when I was 20 and I was returning to recover it. I fell in love with New York and like a returning lover I have fallen in love with it again.

I had some checklists I wanted to do before the returning to New York thought this time.

1) Don’t come as a tourist

New York is an expensive city. I didn’t want to come back for a holiday and if I was able to come for 4 days than I had to be passing through or here for work. Carrying my laptop meant I am able to work with my team in Goa, London, Toronto + San Jose. And I am also passing through as I can work from Toronto and Costa Rica then attend a friends wedding in Miami. I am known for doing things like this, I once flew to see my sister in Japan as I thought it was quite close to Thailand.

2) Stay with a friend

Being a Londoner I know that the best way to see London is to stay with someone who lives there and knows it. As New York is more hectic and more expensive than London, I see this being a huge bonus. I am spending a week here staying with a good friend who lives in the lower East side. This is the trendy part to be in, if you are comparing it with London, think Shoreditch.

I love how New Yorkers have an interesting way of explaining apartments. Her apartment is as a walkup / shotgun. This means there is no elevator and you can see the whole apartment from the back to the front, like firing a shotgun. In London this would be a studio flat.

PS she’s looking to lease out the last 3 months so message me if your keen

3.Hang out with cool people

When I last came to New York I was 20 going on 21 and doing some work experience at a design studio for 1 month. I had no friends and wasn’t able to go out anywhere because I was under the age of 21. I still had an incredible time being a loner. So imagine how much better it would be if I had friends!

I knew that this time I had to hang out with the cool people as New York just emulates cool. Everyone is too cool for school here. I got told off a few times for not being cool enough. Like not leaving a 20% tip with my expensive meal, “that is not cool”. Or ordering a grapefruit shandy in a shabby bar, and lattes aren’t cool either in New York. Next time I must try harder, but not too hard as that too would be un cool.

I have 3 friends living in New York, all are cool creatives who I worked with back at Publicis and Saint. By sheer coincidence they all had other friends who were visiting too. And these friends were my friends who were their friends who were friends with my other friends and so on and so on. New York is one of those places that once you are in with the right people, then you connect left right and centre. I suppose that is why you end up doing so much in New York.

“me: Do you find you do more in New York?
friend: Of course! You do like 200% more”

One of my friends from back home who I bumped into

4. Eat at great places

My friend and boyfriend are real foodies, and they both go on about the great places to eat in New York. This was my mission, I have listed the places that I went to below.

Miss Lily’s: A great Caribbean place. Order the corn on the cob and jerk chicken, washed down with a bottle of red stripe.

Diner: An old dining car, serving fresh, seasonal takes on diner staples. Eat the pork steak and wash down with a magnum of wine, best enjoyed with at least 5 friends.

Uncle Boons: Thai Restaurant in Lower East Side. Order everythign and wash down with a Chang beer

4. Explore Disco

I’m a big disco fan and if you where going to transport me back in time I would choose New York in the 70’s. The fashion is amazing the furniture designs are classics and the music is filled with soul. There is no where better to listen to this kind of music than the Loft. The Loft was the location for the first underground dance party (called “Love Saves the Day”) organized by David Mancuso on February 14, 1970. At these parties no alcohol, food, or beverages are sold. Unlike conventional nightclubs or discotheques, attendance is by invitation only. And guess what, I managed to get an invite : ). I seriously don’t know how to explain these parties but the pure vibe and sound just makes you want to dance and smile.

The famous I ❤ NY was designed in 1977

I left New York feeling poor, tired and full but above all still in love. I think the best way to describe it is by quoting one of my favourite songs by Diana Ross.

“Think about it all the time,Never let it out of my mind ’Cause I love you

I’ve got the sweetest hangover, I don’t wanna get over
Sweetest hangover”

PS. Follow me on instagram to follow my travels

--

--

Hannah Bain
bannahhain

Literally the ramblings of a London Designer and Art Director. I love to travel and work