Returning to India

Hannah Bain
bannahhain
Published in
3 min readMar 12, 2018

This is a prologue to my Rajasthan Roadtrip series.

Capturing India

As most people may know, India is a place that truly is close to my heart. I first visited the country back in 2012 to visit Amma’s ashram in Kerala. I then retuned in January 2013 to do a yoga teacher training course in Nashik, and to visit the world yoga capital in Rishikesh. I was hooked and needed a way to go back again. So in October of 2013 I returned to start a design and development studio from Goa. But my love for India started long before 2012. My love for India started when I was young. My older sister (Fenella) and I would dream of going to India to explore the beauty and colours. We bought travel books together and talked about one day doing the big trip. So I owed it to Fenella to one day come with her and do our own India journey. One similar to the film Darjeeling Ltd. Hence why we chose Rajaesthan. Rajesthan is India’s largest state and is known to be the jewel of India’s crown. It has many palaces and forts, and is probably the most pictured place in India. Befor I go I will share a few tips on what you should do for preparation in coming to India.

I really don’t like packing

Tips to prepare for India

Monzo & Revolut Cards

These cards are great for using abroad, and comes with a great app to show your real time spending and exchange rates. Both are free, so I would recommend getting both, so you have backup if you need

Getting your visa

Most people coming to India will need to apply for a visa. You must apply at least 4 days before, and up to 30 days before traveling. The application is online and isn’t that straight forward, but it’s a hell of a lot easier than it used to be when you had to que at the embassy. My first application I had to que for 7 hours!

India travel tips Facebook Forum — Hippie in Heels

This Facebook group was started by my friend and travel blogger Rachel, who has traveled extensively through India. It’s a great place to ask questions and get useful answers from fellow travelers.

Book the trains

We opted to go for a road trip as the places we wanted to visit weren’t directly connected by trains. But if you are choosing to travel by trains then try and book these at least a month or more before. Trains are a really lovely way to see India, but do keep in mind that they aren’t always on time, so ensure to leave plenty of room for delays. There are also Tourist quotas at main big train stations, which you could get onto as a foreigner.

Booking Flights

I normally fly with Jet Airways as their prices are reasonable and they fly direct. You can choose a separate city to depart from, which will enable you to see more of India.

Think about what time you want to arrive in India too. Our flight will arrive in Delhi at 10:50am, which will give us plenty of time to get from Delhi airport to Agra. Personally I would avoid staying in Delhi if you can. I find whenever I speak to someone who dislikes India, the likelihood is that they landed in Delhi and spent a few days there first. Which really isn’t a great way to start off your time in India.

--

--

Hannah Bain
bannahhain

Literally the ramblings of a London Designer and Art Director. I love to travel and work