Why is my creative writing so much better when I’m sad?

Hannah Bain
bannahhain
Published in
2 min readSep 6, 2017

I am writing this post out of annoyance in myself. I have found that I haven’t found the need to write a blog post over the last couple of months, because I’m just a bit too happy at the moment. Great songs are made from sadness and depression, this is where if I was a Science person I could give you the whole reasoning behind why. Sadly I can’t give you the scientific reasoning, but I could give you the Bannahhain theory.

*Note that this is purely my opinion this day and may change in a week or so’s time.

Theory 01

When I am sad I am yearning to latch onto something that can make me feel better, sometimes this means hearing another ones sadness.

Theory 02

When I am sad, my mind goes into overload giving me negative thoughts that my positive self has to constantly battle, thus creating a huge dialogue in my head that makes more sense when I write it down.

Theory 03

The need to get my thoughts and feelings down in a post aren’t as needed as I’m not embarrassed by my melancholy and can chat to everyone I meet about what is going on in my life.

I can also become a smug person, and lecture others on how to be happy too.

“When this happened to me I did this, and now I am happy because of that.., you should totally try that too!”

I’m sorry but when I was sad, the last thing I needed was for someone to tell me how to be happy, as quite frankly what makes that person feel like they have the authority to be tell you that.

Conclusion

I have no conclusion, apart from the fact that I should just write anyway, because that’s the only way I will become a better writer, which is why I made this blog.

Now at least I can congratulate myself for posting again after a long time.

--

--

Hannah Bain
bannahhain

Literally the ramblings of a London Designer and Art Director. I love to travel and work