Writing your first blog post is scary and takes time.

Hannah Bain
bannahhain
Published in
3 min readJun 13, 2016

Over 2 years have passed and as you can see from a screenshot of my drafts folder, I have been able to write a total of 19 words. That is less than I write in a text message to my Mum!

What is it about writing a blog post that is so scary?

I remember when I was 8 years old I wrote a story about the day I was able to travel to the moon. I remember thinking how great my story was, this was a story that I was going to read out in class, all my teachers would congratulate me on my creative writing. I would get glowing reports to my parents about what a talented writer their daughter was. I handed in my story to my teacher and…

I got nothing! No great job or 10/10. It felt like I put all this effort into writing a great story to get no return. Why would I put all my heart and soul into something if no one was going to appreciate it? A few years after I found my space story. Again I opened it thinking this was a great story, however this time after re reading it I saw just how stupid it was! It definitely wasn’t as good and I was delusional about my writing skills. I think this was where my fear of writing started.

Why in 2 years have I only written 19 words?

In the last 2 years I have co founded a design and development company that is based in 3 different countries, has 50 employees and nearly 100 clients. In short my email’s have increased from writing 20 per week to nearly a 1000 each month. I hate writing emails and wish that I could send pictures instead. My sentences don’t make sense and my grammar and spelling is awful! However being a director of a business people expect replies and direction so I had to learn to do this fast. Through doing this I found that I could construct an email, sure it may not be perfect, but the only way to get better is to keep on writing. This is the reason I am ble to write today, because I need to keep writing and writing.

It has taken me 2 years to finally feel confident about just writing and not feel too ashamed. I only wish that I had been doing this for the last 2 years, so I could look back and see the difference.

Why am I able to write today?

I still am hugely ashamed of my writing skills but if I have been able to write emails that have articulated my ideas to employees and clients then now is the time to start writing a blog. I’m ready to try out my new creative writing skills and show the world that I have something to say. I want to share my experiences as I have found it so useful hearing others.

I just hope that I keep it up so I can become better.

Now I just hit publish!

--

--

Hannah Bain
bannahhain

Literally the ramblings of a London Designer and Art Director. I love to travel and work