A Love Of

Param Shanti
BAPS Better Living
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2021

Perched high above all,
Floor-to-ceiling- windows tall,
A city glistens bright,
This desire of a home, always has been my delight
A love of- fantasy, simple luxury, and living wondrously.

A pencil stroke, an eraser by my side,
Swiftly & carefully, I sketch a sight,
A pastime that soothes,
And turns all my sour moods
A love of art- a passion, a lesson, a respite.

With a “Will you keep a secret?” it began,
Years together, marked by melodies in unison we sang,
A shoulder you provided,
And troubles we too often confided,
A love of a friend- caring, accepting, ever all-encompassing.

A basketball game of H-O-R-S-E.
A scowl, a shove, in ways you’d always tease
But grew up, we did together,
Many memories of sorrows and laughter,
A love of a brother- a teacher, a side-kick, a forever protector.

Peanut butter sandwiches packed neatly in my lunch box,
Seat-holding my unsteady bike around the same corner street blocks,
Too often, your comforts & dreams sacrificed,
So every opportunity I can meet and pounce.
A love of a parent- true, forever, unconditioned, and unmarred.

Time stood still when our eyes met.
I fell in love as you sat through the string quartets,
A home, a family; we sat in the grass & envisioned,
A promise we made to support, trust, & listen
A love of a partner- lifelong, and all, a place I knew I forever belonged.

With all the loves that have come before,
I’m nearly complete, but I know, there’s more.
For greater is the love of kindness & compassion.
Extending understanding to a stranger brings satisfaction
It’s a type of love beyond our own,
So none, not one, would again feel alone
A love for all humanity- however different- in color, religion, thought, and personality.

Bhavisha Doshi, Civil Engineer
North Bergen, NJ

Artwork by:
Meera Sorathia, Veterinary Technician
Swedesboro, NJ

--

--