Akshardham and Me

Tanvi Patel
BAPS Better Living
Published in
2 min readSep 27, 2023

During the summer of August/September 2022, I was given the unique opportunity of doing seva (volunteering) at the site of the BAPS Swaminarayan Akshardham in Robbinsville, NJ for two weeks. I spent the time engaged in waterproofing various portions of the parikrama - an ornate border around the main Akshardham structure. Each day, without fail, I would reach for my pink hard hat and enthusiastically walk onto the construction site without a trace of tiredness. My hard hat became an extension of me while I offered my devotion and service to a cause that is so personal to me. This poem is written from the perspective of that very hard hat that was part of this beautiful journey.

A glimmering dawn over the horizon tiptoes,
A beautiful zephyr across the morning blows.
Here I sit- in a locker, cabinet, room,
Waiting for the spirit of service to illume.

Amongst joy and chatter, my companions arrive,
Not a trace of exhaustion or boredom- they thrive,
Without doubt, straight for me do their hands dive,
And off they go with a goal; an unparalleled drive.

Sweltering heat, frigid cold and pellets of rain,
Not once do I feel the burden or pain.
Truly this devotion for such a grand task,
Is barely even much of an ask.

Amidst heights and scaffolding goes my day,
Never without appreciation and fun play.
I’m forever touring the area, circling the ground,
During breaks, I silently bask in divine sound.

Sometimes, the head I sit on meets with a bump,
Other times, for no reason at all, I land with a thump.
Yet right on me, every memory becomes a sketch,
Like the craftsmanship of intaglio, I accept the etch.

Being witness to joy, dedication and even fear,
I too participate in every emotion and cheer.
When people look at me, I can be a mess,
The magnitude of my journey, no one can guess.

My guru Pramukh Swami Maharaj, the visionary of it all
And guru Mahant Swami Maharaj who trusted me to not fall.
Power, determination and values they have instilled,
I could never do this, if they hadn’t willed.

Emblazoned with Akshardham as my identity,
Whites, pinks, oranges and greys- all a part of my entity.
At the end of the day, I’m placed back with a gentle pat,
Here you have it, a story of divine, through the tale of a hard hat.

Tanvi Patel, Toronto
Respiratory Therapist

--

--