Eternal Vaccine

Param Shanti
BAPS Better Living
Published in
6 min readJun 12, 2021

On January 6, 2021, I got vaccinated against Covid-19. Humbled that I qualified so early on, I was eager to get this opportunity to protect myself and others around me. It was an empowering experience and almost made me feel invincible. Throughout 2020, we looked forward to turning over a new leaf in the new year. At times, it almost felt as though all the burdens of 2020 would vanish in 2021. But as I reflect, halfway through the year, fully vaccinated, I realize this isn’t the case.

In March of 2020, the true nature of COVID-19 in the United States was brought to light. The advent of the pandemic in our country stirred chaos, as many people attempted to prepare for what seemed to be the end of the world. After a long day of clinic, I remember walking into my local grocery store to pick up some fruits and vegetables. I could feel hysteria in the air as people filled their carts with gallons of milk and a lavish supply of toilet paper. Checkout lines wrapped around the corner. Shopping carts and receipts were scattered all over the parking lot, as though basic statutes no longer applied. I left the store empty-handed as none of the items I needed were in stock.

As the world took stock of what was viewed as basic necessities, I recently reflected and took stock of what got me through the pandemic.

The Virtue of Unity

The essence of Hinduism and spiritual living prescribed in our teachings highlights the importance of unity and respect. This knowledge foundation was imperative during the lockdown as families were not accustomed to spending this much time together.

I am currently in dental school, and for the past three years, I have been living far from home, unable to spend as much time with my family as I would like. I am used to cooking and eating at my own time and leisure. However, when classes became virtual, spending four months at home taught my family and me a lesson on flexibility. Although I was living with my parents on the East Coast, my classes took place in a time zone that was two hours behind. Often, my classes would end during dinnertime, and I would not help prepare the meal. Communicating with my parents and keeping them in the loop about my schedule were habits I had to develop. My parents demonstrated flexibility by eating later in the day so that we could enjoy dinner together. I also adjusted my schedule to help around the house over the weekend and before my classes began.

This virtue made me immune to uncomfortable situations that often cause rifts in households. Understanding that the pandemic also affected my parents’ working hours and communicating openly with them allowed us to share the workload, avoid feelings of irritation, and reduce quarrels.

Turning to My Support System

While living through uncharted times, we all searched for constants to stay grounded and motivated. The pandemic restricted us from physically meeting constants in our lives such as family, friends, and colleagues. However, virtually connecting with those who relayed positive messages was uplifting. While it is nice to have company, it is even more important to keep the company of the right people. Such an association can inspire you, push you towards the correct path, and help you become a better person. On the other hand, keeping the company of negative individuals can introduce negative thoughts, addictions, and immorality into your life.

Throughout my quarantine, I noticed I had become consumed by social media and resorted to hours of doom scrolling. As my screen time escalated, my productivity decreased, and my unfinished work led to frustration. I discussed this with my friends who were also experiencing something similar. We collectively decided to do a social media cleanse and deleted applications that we were spending most of our time on. We also organized virtual yoga sessions and cooking demonstrations to promote a well-balanced lifestyle. This led to other positive changes, as I noticed that I was becoming less inclined to reach for my cell phone throughout the day and devoted more time to studying.

I was glad I could tap into good habits endorsed by a positively reinforcing group of friends who took this initiative with me. My support system made me immune to recurring negative thoughts I faced during quarantine which helped me navigate the pandemic with hope and a healthy outlook.

Revisiting Memories

Published in the Journal of Psychology and Psychotherapy: Theory, Research, and Practice, a study asked participants to recall a positive memory they shared with someone. The results concluded that savoring a good memory using the five senses felt similar to “re-experiencing” that exact memory. Participants claimed to experience the same feelings of warmth and safety while pushing away their negative emotions.

I have had a habit of journaling ever since I was a little girl. I have written down memorable moments, quotes, and verses from scriptures, books, and discourses through the years. And true to the study, revisiting these memories frequently helped me experience similar emotions of happiness, days or even years after the incident occurred.

For many of us, 2020 was the first time in years that we could not celebrate with each other, partake in festivals together, or visit our place of worship. Reminiscing of past occasions, festivals, and even Sunday youth assemblies kept my faith and motivation ignited. I remember putting this to practice last November during Diwali, my favorite time of the year. During this week-long celebration, I looked forward to visiting my friends and family at the BAPS Swaminarayan Mandir in Washington D.C.- cooking, decorating, and watching fireworks. Last year due to the pandemic, everyone celebrated Diwali wholly at home. By looking through pictures of past Diwali celebrations, my family and I could recall the bliss we had experienced over the previous years. We were able to thus recreate that same joy and excitement in a COVID-friendly manner at home. We dressed up in our best clothes, decorated our homes, and performed the same traditions as in previous years but on a much smaller scale.

This virtue has made me immune to distance, a feeling we all experienced during the pandemic. Even if I am far from my family or my mandir, I know I can rely on my memories to close the space in between.

In the grand scheme of things, the COVID-19 vaccine has provided a solution to a temporary problem in the world. Now imagine having a solution to every problem in the world! I have come to realize that my faith has already provided me with the ultimate survival kit: scriptural texts and discourses that highlight the values of unity, good company, and positive memories. Since their origin, I learned how relevant and pragmatic they are even today. Outlined within these scriptures is guidance for sadness, laziness, fear, and loneliness, as well as solutions for overcoming financial struggles and the pain of losing a loved one. In reality, by keeping faith in God and reading our faith’s scriptures, we can become eternal and invincible to all the plagues and pandemics life has to offer.

Before the pandemic, I had overlooked the significance of the elements in my survival kit. I also realized this year that a crucial part of that survival kit is my spiritual community, the opportunity to come together, interact with others from my faith, and learn from their life lessons and experiences. With in-person Sunday services re-opening at my local BAPS Swaminarayan mandir, I am excited to learn about which tools and values others leaned on during the pandemic.

I look forward to enriching my survival kit, which has helped me navigate these uncertain and unprecedented times and primed me for the turbulences of tomorrow.

Shaili Shah, Salt Lake City, Utah
Dental Student

--

--