Moments of Self-Reflection

Param Shanti
BAPS Better Living
Published in
5 min readMay 3, 2024

Early one morning last summer, as the sun was rising, I drove to BAPS Swaminarayan Akshardham in Robbinsville, New Jersey, during the Festival of Inspirations. A landmark of Hindu art and architecture, I’ve personally witnessed how Akshardham unites individuals from diverse backgrounds and welcomes peace and harmony. I’ve seen how a place can inspire devotion, self-improvement, and unity. The culmination of the peaceful aura of Akshardham, the spirit of service, and universal messages on living a purposeful life brings a sense of courage in my own life. The summer of 2023 was a new beginning for me. As a recent college graduate, my time spent at Akshardham offered me moments that allowed me to step out of my comfort zone and pay closer attention to the people and environments that inspire me.

The Festival of Inspirations was a three-month long event celebrating timeless values, bringing together individuals from across the world to experience spiritual bliss. Its volunteers shared a common purpose of bringing their passions and desire to contribute to the inauguration festival marking the completion of the Swaminarayan Akshardham.

My time volunteering at the festival consisted of giving site tours of the Akshardham campus and teaching traditional dance forms to youths in preparation for cultural programs. When I reflect on my experience, I treasure each moment spent here, because it has led to providing me with the tools to further embrace my identity as a Hindu-American woman. I share below a few of those moments — inspired by my volunteering experience, the campus itself, and the events that took place during the Festival of Inspirations.

“I welcome you to find a stone carving that resonates with you.”

I often say this to visitors, as I tour them through the Akshardham campus. When I reflect on what inspires me, I feel connected to a stone carving in the mandir of Meerabai, a Hindu poet, singer, and devotee of Bhagwan Krishna. Meerabai, often shown depicted with the veena (traditional Indian instrument), used her artistic abilities, to offer her devotion to God. Through her devotional songs, she inspired countless individuals to uphold strong moral values, sharing messages of faith and determination.

This story of Meerabai inspires me to connect with others in the community. Engaging in conversation with others shows me how each individual contributes to the community in unique ways by sharing their strengths and passions with others. It’s the subtle gestures, representing love and respect, that fuel my energy to continue learning and engaging with others. Folding our hands is a gesture of mutual respect. A smile is a gesture of welcoming all. A hug is a gesture of love and appreciation. As I see others experience Akshardham’s peaceful atmosphere, lost in introspection, I begin to find greater appreciation for having a place like Akshardham where I too can be my most authentic self, finding strength from values that we all share. These values of living with honesty, forgiveness, self-realization, and integrity allow our community to unite, in appreciation of our diverse backgrounds.

A photo of celestial beings enshrining the welcome center

“Put in your hard work.” - His Holiness Mahant Swami Maharaj

I am reminded of my guru Mahant Swami Maharaj sharing this message with me through a letter, providing me with career guidance. The sculpture of a mudra (hand gesture) of Pramukh Swami Maharaj writing letters at the Akshardham campus, reminds me of the comfort I found upon receiving a response to my letter. These words guide me to focus on efforts rather than outcomes. Written with love and honesty, these letters provide me with an opportunity to receive direct guidance from my gurus. While navigating post-college life, these words provided me with a sense of hope and reassurance that with hard work and diligence, I would find my way into starting a career. It’s these words that provide me with courage and motivation to begin new professional pursuits. This letter, which is so dear to me, makes me complete, as it reminds me of a simple mindset shift to find fulfillment. Success is not necessarily reaching an outcome, rather it’s being content with putting forth your best foot forward. Each time I walk past this sculpture at the Akshardham campus, I derive joy, a sense of peace, and renewed hope.

The mudra (hand gesture) of Pramukh Swami Maharaj at Swaminarayan Akshardham

“You are only given what you can handle. Lean on your inspiration.” — Rakhee Patel, DMD

These words were shared by Dr. Patel during an evening cultural assembly focused on family unity. Listening to her provide meaningful insight on navigating life as an Indian American, guided me to redefine my goals and benchmark of success. As she shared through lived experiences how women can balance professional, family, and personal lives while keeping spirituality as a daily practice, I was reminded of the inner strength that women experience by supporting other women. Behind the success of one woman is the support of those who accept her authenticity, ambition, and passions. This support system allows women to be the best versions of themselves, fearless of judgment and insecurities.

Photo from the cultural program, From House to Home, at the Festival of Inspirations

As I reflect on these moments at Akshardham, I feel recharged and empowered to navigate this next chapter of life. These moments become memories to cherish forever, providing me with a sense of immense gratitude. The divine atmosphere sparks moments of deep reflection, allowing me to witness being at ease with my thoughts.

BAPS Swaminarayan Akshardham is a source of my strength.

It’s a source of motivation.

Its values, teachings, and supporting community are a part of my identity. Hence, it will forever be a part of my life, serving as my personal guiding light.

Mahima Dave, Student in Public Health
Chicago, IL

--

--