Xero Genesis: The Best Budget Barefoot Huarache Sandal

Andrew Folts
Barefootwear
Published in
4 min readApr 28, 2023

--

April 28, 2022—For budget barefootwear nothing beats the durability and flexibility of the Xero Genesis huarache sandal.

Hello, my name’s Andrew, and this is the Xero Genesis, the best barefoot huarache sandals for hiking and trail running on a minimalist budget.

1. Features

Back in 2017 I bought a pair of Xero Z-Trek’s, and I liked them so much that I literally didn’t buy another pair of barefoot sandals for six years.

But people kept bugging me for a huarache review, so I was like: “Ugh…fine, I’ll have Xero send me a pair of Genesis. Genesises? Genesi?”

Either way…I think I might have to switch to team toe thong!

Xero Genesis barefoot huarache sandal in water.

Fit/Form

Because the Genesis has a minimalist design like the V-Trek but with a thinner, ultra-flexible 5mm sole, and a wide, foot-shaped toebox…

…although, FYI, I went with the more narrow women’s version, because I have skinny soccer feet.

Materials

--

--

Andrew Folts
Barefootwear

Author of 365 Comics. Writer, illustrator, and barefoot runner slinging minimalist hacks for creative rebels.