I’m Not Fat Anymore, Thanks to Bariatric Surgery

My life is so much better, and I don’t care what the fat-acceptance warriors think.

Matilda Fairholm
Bariatric Surgery Blog

--

Images of author, by author

There, I’ve already got the cardinal sin of weight loss stories out of the way. The photo on the right was taken a couple of days ago with 80% of my excess weight gone. There is a 12 month period and 42 kg difference between these photos. It hasn’t been an easy year but my life is so much better.

Oops, there I go again.

Three years ago I wrote a story that went semi-viral about my determination to get professional help and finally loose the weight because I was just so sick of being fat. It was ruining my life. I truly believed that I could, with the right experts in my corner, truly turn long-term obesity around without taking the drastic step of weight-loss surgery.

I was at a point where I was simply sick of missing out because of my size, my lack of stamina and the state of my joints. Done with being held back by a body that was far too large for my frame.

I was over it.

A season of professional help.

I spent about a year genuinely engaged in a pragmatic approach to tackling my obesity. I worked on my habits, engaged with my doctor, my dietician and…

--

--

Matilda Fairholm
Bariatric Surgery Blog

Writing to rescue others from the devastation of domestic abuse, and learning to live better. https://matildafairholm.medium.com/membership